You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Kittens - An Introduction

in #cats7 years ago

Okay @kittylicious, I just swooned all over the place at your little furbabies.

My big boy, Mr. St. John, used to have curled under little legs too. He was not getting anything to eat as a baby because he was the dying runt in that litter and was just being clobbered.

When I took him, I started feeding him colostrum out of a little kitten bottle. He actually straightened up, too. It has been fascinating. He's 14.5 now and you'd never know that had been what his little hind legs looked like before.

Sort:  

We had one that had to be bottle fed but he sadly did not make it, it is crazy how attached one can get by bottle feeding, I was a mess when he passed. I try to focus on the kittens that remain now.

Did you stretch his hind legs or did they just work out when he got older? We keep stretching the kittens daily but there is very little progress.

Awww, I know what you mean, @kittylicious! It was touch-and-go with my little guy when I received him. Emergency vet trips in a rural area to a very small city to get help, et cetera. I would have been pretty devastated to see him perish.

I'm sorry your family had to go through that. It's always difficult to see a being suffering, especially one in your care. 💘It's good you have had the little ones there to co-nurture. That's how it really works too. They're little healing secret agents, undercover(fur).

As for my Johnny-boy, he sort of bounced back. He was all full of piss and vinegar. As soon as he was being held (he was constantly on my chest) and fed this stuff, he kinda tore the place up. lol He just started ripping around and got stronger and stronger. He would run up my leg (especially when I was in shorts, OUCH!) and climb me.

Those little curly legs straightened themselves out, if you ask me.

Colostrum gives the naive immune system the polypeptides carrying messenger data from a more robust immune system. While they're so little like that, it is easily assimilated for them to integrate into their growing bodies. I have a feeling that's what helped give my little guy the edge, plus I'm a kanga-daddy, so he was spoiled with constant love.

Will keep that in mind, I just worry their legs will never get well you know? They are so sweet and I want them to find loving homes but some might be a bit put off if they legs won't straighten out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66