I’ve been adopted by a feral cat: What should I name him?

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

As promised in my introduction post, I’m ready to share the tale of the lovely feral tom cat that has adopted me. He posed wonderfully for the picture that I snapped; probably wondering who this intruder is – on his territory. He was busy marking his territory on my lavender tree. Look and see how handsome he is with his bright yellow eyes...

feral cat.jpg

  • Picture My Own

A few months back I saw him for the very first time. It was about the same time I had a problem with field mice. Oops! I don’t seem to have that problem anymore thanks to my new friend.

These days I see quite a few times during the day, doing his patrols – first in the morning freshening his markings around the front end of the garden... then around the side....then around the back. He repeats this patrol in the afternoon, possibly in the evenings too...

He not all good, he is up to some mischief too! Often, he gets in among my garbage bags with his signature claw marks all over the bags...

Before I close the post... I was wondering, what should I name him?


Thank-you! Thank-you! You have all been awesome for reading my post.

Sort:  

Hello @happyhairdays, it's nice to hear you've got new furry friend 🐱
I would name him Shadow, because it seem to match not only his outside look but to his personality too 😉🐾😺💕

Yes, it has been wonderful having him around the garden. By marking his territory he has kept the mice at bay!

Yes, shadow is great! That is often the first impression he makes. But I will make my final decision at the end of the post...

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hello @happyhairdays welcome to steemit!
What a beautiful kitty, he looks like a Smokey! :-)

@adazone has a cool name also, Shadow!
me and my shadow

Sometimes they pick their own names like
my Loki did lol

Following and resteeming ❤ 🐱 🐾

What a gorgeous "beast"! What about Beastie Boy as name? 🙂

Thank-you for your comment. Yes, isn't he gorgeous! Wow, I think Beastie Boy is a wonderful name. All macho for a cat of his stature.

Alright! Stay tuned, I will select a name at the end of the post!

He is handsome and friendly looking for a feral. I love his color and amber eyes. I'd name him something characteristic like Watcher or Hunter.

Thank-you @countrygirl for your comment. I think they're both great names, stay tuned...at the end of the post I shall select a name.

Hello @happyhairdays, my wife @shasta sent me over to have a look at your blog. I like it. I pretty much like all the names offered for the kitty adoption name, but I will throw my 3 cents worth in on a name also. "Shambler" A definite shadow cat, and also amber eyes that stand out, and a rambler cat that likes to roam, thus "Sh amb ler". Shambler.

I am with a couple groups of people that like to help new user adjust to steemit. @newbieresteemday is one of them, They will resteem good post, and provide assistance on any number of things, they also have a sister site @newbiegames where they feature games that are relatively inexpensive to play and give a chance to earn some SBD's or steem by playing. When I say inexpensive they try to find games that don't cost a vote to enter or a resteem, as a new user they understand that votes are somewhat limited for new users.

You say you are pretty tech non-savey, if you use or are familiar with online chat groups, most of the steemit groups are on Discord Chat. @newbieresteemday have a discord chat room, and have a lot of help available through there. Here is their Discord Chat Room. No waiting for approval like some rooms, everyone is welcome there.

There are a lot of communities on steemit, and more are forming every day. @thehive is a social group I belong to where we are trying to support and help each other grow, through upvoting, and giving out advice that we have found useful, but mostly just a social group of people becoming friends. It is a DIscord Chat group and here is the link to it, I am unsure if it you will need to wait for approval or not, that's @jan23com's baily whack, not mine, I just play and sometimes chat there.

#caturday, that is not a contest that I know of, but just cat lovers sharing their cat pics. My wife @shasta can fill you in more on that. Growing on steemit needs a couple of things, first getting seen, that can be done by making real comments on people's post, (like you did on @shasta's) that can get people to drop by and see what you have. Then there comes the posting part, coming up with an Idea of what to post, that is where some of these challenges or heres a posting idea come in handy, for those post block times, (kind of like writers block only post block). #caturday, #treetuesday, and dozens of others of those types are out there. One thing that most people will not tolerate at all and that is plagiarism. No one like to vote on or reward a thief. I see you already know that you need to give credit where credit is due. I for one appreciate that.

Okay, I think that is long enough for now. You have a nice evening.

Thank you @bashadow and @shasta for making me feel most welcome...and taking the time to write such a lengthy response. It is most appreciated.

I will certainly work through the list of activities and chat rooms to see where I can add some value. I'm not a real chat room fan as I lack the time to be consistent... but let's see have how this works out.

Shambler is a great name for all the reasons you've already mentioned...At the end of the post I will select one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64