😻 I made a cuddle-bot

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

Introducing @steemkitten

a cuddly kitten bot

kitten_iheartcuddles.jpg

I've been wanting to try my hand at writing a steem-bot for a while. 2017 is slowly coming to an end, @googlyeyes has taken over the #GooglyPrize movement, I finally have some long needed spare time and motivation available again, it's time to dive into something new.

Cryptokitties are all the rage lately, my last few bitcoin related posts had cat images in them, but I swear this is totally a coincidence! It's winter and cold here and don't you just get a craving to cuddle with a cute fluffy little kitten? I sure do!

It was quite a challenge, I've never really used python for much before, that felt kind of awkward, and the documentation for the steem-python library isn't very extensive at all to say the least.

Oh yeah, and of course I started developing it with piston-lib initially, just to eventually learn that it was outdated and steemit inc had ported it over to steem-python which they now maintain as an "official" library... that was kind of a headache... but still, here we are...

@steemkitten is making her first baby steps!

She's not very smart yet, but she's already making friends.

@steemkitten will remember who's been nice to her and she'll come by to cuddle her friends from time to time. When she hasn't received any cuddles herself in a while, she'll start begging for attention on posts in the #cats category.

I've been letting her stroll around for a bit already and she's been getting to know almost 100 fellow steemians by now.

I plan to continue improving her decision making process and I want to give her some personality. For now it's really all just rudimentary score-keeping and a very basic branching algorithm.

I invite you to give her a visit and see for yourself. If you want to befriend her, just give her a cuddle... she'll remember!

Let me know what you think!

Is this just more spam or is it actually cute?

I know there are already a lot of annoying bots out there and I am myself a bit unsure of how I ultimately feel about all of these automated replies and the appeal of non-human curation and voting.

But I hope @steemkitten will make some people smile. As she grows and learns new things, develops a personality, maybe I can train her to provide a fun interactive experience, a cuddly stray kitten, exploring the blockchain, sharing the love.


meow?!
cuddles = upvotes = cuddles

follow @fraenk

... it's free!
fraenk avatar
steem-on and prosper

Sort:  

Cute idea! Following the kitten now. 😻 I am curious how it grows up! Tip!

hehe, I already introduced her to yourself and the rest of the minnowsupport voting trail this afternoon :D that's like half of her friends right now.

I am equally curious and probably twice as excited to see and help her grow.

Thanks for the tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

I want cuddles! And my cat hates them...

Oh... must be a sophisticated cat... I heard they don't fall for such low things as cuddling with humans.

But you are welcome to cuddle with @steemkitten instead ;)

She is a spoiled brat! That's what she is :p

Oh I love her! :D She's visiting me daily to cuddle! :D
Such cute little kitty!

A cute kitty cat indeed! Been charmed by her since her very first cuddle, great stuff!

Cool idea @fraenk i wanted to learn how to make a bot something like that but I am no programmer

It isn't too hard actually... but without programming basics you'll have some catching up to do before you'll get there.

In the meantime, I hope you'll enjoy the kitten cuddling you :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05