Gus and Us - Part 4 - Give me shelter.

in #cats5 years ago (edited)

GUS AND US – PART 4
We lay awake early in the morning waiting for Gus to arrive for his morning meal. He has been grumpy, slapping our shoes and arms. I want to give him a hug, but that would mean a trip to the emergency clinic. Winter is at hand so I added a windbreak and roof to the banquet table. Cats don’t like change. So I put up the structure gradually. Initially, I put up to sides to protect them from the wind. I have seen Gus leave without finishing his meal because the wind and rain were too much. After he appeared he was comfortable with the sides I went to work on the roof.

1543079002632_IMG_20181124_1155471.jpg

I felt better he and his fellow wanderers would have cover from the snow, rain, and wind. My timing was good the next day we had three inches of snow. Gus and Lucky both have accepted the arrangement. I created another shelter from a plastic lounge chair. Just a few spare asphalt shingles in the right places and Itzy’s hang out is dry.

1543078922260_PART_1543078922171.jpg
Gus is a TNR (trap and release) cat. We trapped him and took him to a non-profit charity, All About Animals, for neutering. This reduces his range and renders him docile or at least that is what I learned in my certification training. He has exhibited no signs of docility. He was skinny when we took him in to be neutered, now he has gained significant weight. His only routine is show up, eat and leave. We must keep a vigilant watch. He is a free spirit and hasn’t a set schedule.
One day he will stop coming for food and we will never see him again. I try to push those thoughts out of my mind and live in the present. I still tear up when thinking of him. Long live Gus.

1543078929435_PART_1543078929360.jpg

Please upvote and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85