My Best Friend (Leo)

in #cats5 years ago (edited)

leo.jpg
The first post is always the hardest...just like crafting an opening scene in a fanfic. My first post will proudly be about my best friend, Leo. You see this handsome, sweet, tangerine dream? March will be ten years since I adopted him from the Humane Society. I remember the day quite clearly - walking into the room that had two cats up for adoption: Leo and this real chatterbox called Boots (a gray tabby). I take a second glance and the cat that would not shut up for a mere second was pending adoption while this really beautiful, chill orange cat was possibly looking at his last weekend of life because NO ONE wanted him. I picked him up, talked to him and he rubbed his face into mine...yup, this affectionate fella had me sold.

10 years have passed - a lot of shit has gone on: Went to college, got divorced, had to move back in with family, got re-married, got my own place...and through all of that...the good and the bad...Leo has been there by my side. It is hard to believe that in July, I will have a 12 year old tabby (his birth was quoted as July 2008) as a best friend. I can only hope that there are still many years left before I have to say goodbye. He has truly been a joy whether it's laying down to sleep next to you when you have NetFlix as background noise or jumping on the side of the tub to chill with you after a long day at work...it made me realize that pets are simply family members in a different form. <3

Sort:  

Congratulations @chuckbronson85! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58