Sort:  

I remember seeing those back in Indiana but didnt know they were stink bugs.

Yeah I hate those things. Oddly enough my old house was about 15 minutes from where I live now and I don't think I ever saw one in my life. My new neighborhood is an older neighborhood, more established trees and stuff so maybe that's why.

First year I lived here didn't notice them. Last year was really bad. AFter doing some google searching apparently they were all over the country in record numbers, for whatever reason saw a lot in Pennsylvania from articles I was reading. This year havn't had them at all this year and all the sudden about a week ago they are everywhere.

They're terrible, when you smash them they stink to high hell hence the name, I beleive that attracts them even more then as well. I have a Bug A Salt basically a little plastic gun that shoots salt as opposed to a fly swatter. It works on bees and wasps and flies but these things won't even move.

They are making a game out of the murder of innocent insects trying to make a living! just kidding.... hahah. I usually try to capture crickets and put them outside because I consider them harmless but if I see spiders I kind of freak out and go into extermination mode. Also cockroaches freak me out

haha, funny you said that. As I was posting I was kinda thinking brians always rescuing animals and here I am killing them.

I'm kind of a big girl about bugs, not sure who's worse myself or my girlfriend.

Oddly enough I do have somewhat of a moral compass about killing bugs. If bugs are inside and I can't shoot them out I'll shoot them on the ceiling but I had a buddy over at my house who saw the bug a salt and was wanting to take it outside and shoot bugs and I was kinda like dude common if there not in the house they're no bother leave them alone.

I was reading an interesting reddit post in the philosophy sub the other day about why we value certain animals and not others ie we love dogs, we oftentimes don't like rodents, but then certain rodents are cool. Then across different cultures you have completely different sets of how we feel towards animals ie in some places they'll eat dogs, in some places cows are sacred. Completely off topic but found it kind of thought provoking

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97