Wild cat delivers kittens on my backyard

in #cat6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I noticed a wild cat was sleeping on the edge of my backyard and there was nothing suspicious about the cat.

Upon a closer inspection today, I saw the cat has delivered 6 little kittens. I was not sure how I would feel now. While looking at the newly born kittens surely looks cute, but I certainly I don't want to keep any of them as I am more of a dog person. But knowing how the nature is, the mother cat will probably leave the kittens soon. As I am living in the city, there are so many cars passing by and the chances of them getting hit by cars are pretty high. The cat looked weak and frail after delivering the babies so I went to the pet shop to get some cat food for the mother cat.

photo_2018-02-11_16-22-52.jpg

photo_2018-02-11_04-36-04.jpg

On the second day, I noticed that the mother cat would go away and leave the kittens alone for a couple hours. Maybe she trusted me. Please don't disappear and leave me your kittens. It would be convenient if there is animal control in my country. LOL :)

photo_2018-02-11_16-22-49.jpg

So, any advice from cat lover fellow steemians would be appreciated.

Sort:  

One reason that kittens sleep so much is because a growth hormone is released only during sleep.

Is it possible that the mother abandons them?

A cat has approximately 60 to 80 million olfactory cells (a human has between 5 and 20 million).

In one stride, a cheetah can cover 23 to 26 feet (7 to 8 meters).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70