The Maine coon 🐱

in #cat6 years ago

The Maine coon

I'm going to tell you about my favorite cat, unfortunately I do not have one, but I still like my cat who is a cat that I adopted in a shelter, I was lucky because it's a beautiful long-haired female, one of her parents was perhaps a purebred cat.

image

(Picture source)

Back to Maine coon, this cat impresses me, it is mysterious. I was able to observe it during a visit to a chat room and with the sphinx, I think it is one of the most beautiful and majestic cats.

Maine Coon is the largest known cat breed.
A legend tells that it was born from a cross between a wild cat from the state of Maine in the United States with a raccoon, hence its name.

Despite his imposing size, he is kind and is a good pet. He is gentle, peaceful and easy to train. It gets along very well with children and adapts very easily to the presence of other animals, cats or dogs

He can live in an apartment but will be better in a house, because of his size, he needs large spaces. He also likes being able to go out for a walk outside. Indeed, as I often say to my friends who are afraid to let out their cat, even if we are afraid for him, is not it worth a happy animal in freedom who can go out and risk maybe one day to be done kill (car, poison, ...), rather than an unfortunate animal locked up who may live a little longer?
Personally, even if every morning when I leave my cat all cute and fragile, out in the jungle of the streets and that it scares me, I know that it will spend a good day to trudge with his other friends cats of the district, to go squat with my old neighbor who feeds and shelters when I went to work all day. And when I come home in the evening, I'm happy to see him come running, happy to have had a good day out on the outside and happy to find his bowl and the comfortable chair in front of the TV.

Let's go back to the main coon, at the level of its maintenance, it is necessary to brush it at least once a week to avoid that its hairs get tangled and that it has nodes. It is especially important to brush it at the time of its moult towards the spring so that it avoids to choke while licking itself and swallowing too much dead hair at the same time (it is because of that that sometimes one can observe a cat vomit a ball of hair).

image

(Picture source)

His diet

Although it is large, it should not be fed too much because it tends to grow easily and overweight in an animal as in men is never good for his health.
Since its growth lasts about four years, care must be taken to provide a very good diet especially during these first four years. You have to follow the advice of your veterinarian to know what to give him but a friend told me that he was advised to give her kittens for longer than for a cat of another breed, or well then mixing kibble croquettes with kibble for adult cat is good too. It must also always have fresh water available.

The reason I have not had a Main Coon yet is one, because there are so many unfortunate cats to adopt in the refusals that it's hard to resist the urge to save one. And the second reason is its price, in fact, a kitten Maine coon can cost between 500 euros and 1800 euros depending on the sex and purity of the breed, which is not given for a cat and at this price- I can understand that his owner is afraid to let him out on the street ...

image

(Picture source)

Sort:  

I am in love with the cat.OMG

it's amazing cat, i'ts Bigger than my little girl

You got a 0.05% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Siamese kittens are born white because of the heat inside the mother's uterus before birth. This heat keeps the kittens' hair from darkening on the points.

👍🐱

Jaguars are the only big cats that don't roar.

This heat keeps the kittens' hair from darkening on the points.nice post..thanks.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @glitterfart valued at 74.83 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Sweet Jesus it is huge

Yes they are such beautiful kids! I love them, they are also my favorite!

It'S almost a panther

The Maine Coon is a native New Englander, hailing from Maine, where he was a popular mouser, farm cat and, most likely, ship’s cat, at least as far back as the early 19th century. He is a natural breed and little is known of his origins. Some say the Vikings brought him to North America.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06