❤ 😻 My Neighbor's Cat Likes My House More Than Her House Why Is That?

in #cat6 years ago (edited)

I wonder why my neighbor's kitten likes my house more than her house. A situation that probably happens to a lot of people, but it's the first time it happens to me.



IMG_20180718_112338.jpg


I don't have any phobias or anything, just that there are many people who love animals and I don't consider myself one of them. The truth is, I've only ever had one pet in my life, a cat.


Unfortunately I saw my cat being run over by the garbage truck at 😱, a very EMOTIVE moment indeed. After that, I don't agree to have any other pets.


I currently live with my husband and my neighbor's kitten and he loves being in my house. A situation that strikes me, and as I am a lover of writing, I decided to share with this community why cats go to other houses.


Why do cats go to other houses?


These pets are well known because they are comfort lovers, independent, solitary and have little socialization ability. However, they like to live in their owners' home while it suits them.


Most cats decide to stay in a home that provides all their important needs. Many cats are looking to visit several homes in order to get the best possible treatment.


The vast majority of cats are the ones who choose their owners, who they really want to be with and where they want to live. Sometimes the cats visit several houses to see what's available. It will be smart to do so 😹


The renowned University of Oregon (United States) published results of studies where they mention that cats do not return home for food. In this study, 50 cats from shelters and used to domestic environments were used as references. Researchers restricted all social distractions, food and toys for a few hours. As a result, cats sought more interaction with humans than desperate requests for food.


Such a study showed that cats prefer interaction with humans more than just going to get food. Maybe not only dogs are considered to be the best friends of men, but cats have their own thing too. 😺


Possible Causes of your departure

Few basic needs


Cats, apart from comfort, also seek to satisfy their needs, such as food, play, personal care and sanitary facilities. As soon as some of these elements fail, you will look for them elsewhere.


Attachment to a person


Many times the cat can be so attached to a person that when the human leaves home the cat too. Many cats try to leave with that person they love so much and others look for a new family.



Search for a partner

Male and female cats can leave home to seek to satisfy their desires.



Fear


Some event has frightened him into going somewhere else. It may be because of another animal at home or because of new family noises or conflicts.


Attachment to the territory

In this case, it happens when a family moves from one house to another. If in this case the cat is more attached to the territory than to the same family, it is always returned. In this case he may get lost and find another family to take him in.


Cat overpopulation

By nature cats are very lonely, you can live with another cat as long as you feel safe. However, when you bring another cat into your home, you always welcome the new one more, so he or she can go to another house at that time.


Loses comfort

Each cat has its own comfort, it can be its own physical space, bedding, people, sanitary facilities, among other things important to it. As soon as the comfort or level of comfort drops, the cat will usually look for a better place.


Little attention

If the animal does not feel comfortable within the family, they often seek that attention or acceptance elsewhere.




Some changes

Most cats don't cope very well with sudden changes, some can cope with change, others can't. The arrival of a baby, death, change of house, new pets, divorce are some of the changes that can lead to the departure of the cats. They can also leave when small changes occur, such as moving a chair or bed, using a new deodorant, placing a new carpet, etc.


Boredom

By their nature, cats hunt, eat and sleep. They are designed to be mobile, intelligent and need to be stimulated every day.




Stress

Living with humans can cause problems for cats. Sometimes humans have rules that overwhelm pets. When stress levels increase, usually with other pets or young children, cats look for a quieter place.


Lost

The doors of hot cars or hot engines are an attraction for cats, they can end up being taken away from home in this way. Similarly, on occasions of panic, they may run so fast that when they stop they no longer recognize where they are.



Neglect and abuse

Unfortunately, not all owners are sweet and are concerned about their pets. When the cat feels unattended or is mistreated, it tries to get out of the bad environment.




Curiosity

There are many cats that you love to explore and can find more exciting things than a warm bed and a certain meal.




Illness or injury

Cats that are sick or injured are easy prey for another predator, so they tend to hide wounds or illness for as long as possible. The solution for them is to hide or go away from home. In these cases, sometimes (not always) many say that they "leave home to die". In some cases they recover and return or seek a new home.


Feline dementia

Older cats often forget where they live and who took them in. They usually look for a nearby home until they leave again.





Anyway, after seeing the possible causes why the cats are leaving home, I can say that my neighbor's kitten feels more comfortable in my house than in hers. 😽 Actually, I tell them that I give them food and play with them a lot. I think in the
end she's gonna finish picking me as her owner. Don't tell my neighbor 😉


If I am captivated by my story I would like you to follow me and give me your VOTE to continue encouraging me to write on this network.


She's my neighbor's cat

IMG_20180629_121953.jpg

IMG_20180718_112507.jpg


Note: My mother tongue is Spanish, I try to do the best translation for you. Sorry if there are any translation errors.

Sort:  

beg_drums.png

está muy chevere, la experiencia que tengo con mi gato es diferente, parece un perro, siempre le e dado la libertad de irse si quiere, vivo en edificio y sin decir mentira es muy inteligente tanto que aprendió a salir y hacer sus necesidades en planta baja del edificio y sube al rato, se aprendió el piso y numero de apto, tengo 5 años con el y es muy fiel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54518.65
ETH 2301.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33