Cat vs. hornet

in #cat7 years ago

It was one of those days when you come home after a long day and just want to rest.
Being a proud owner of two feisty rascals, I took care of those two first, of course. Our daily routine consists of feeding, cuddling, playing and grooming in no particular order. Well, feeding is usually our priority. Otherwise, they can get very annoying.

20170804_002334.jpg

Afterward, they decided to do what they do best – take a nap. Cats are truly fascinating creatures. I read somewhere they sleep approximately 72% of their time. It seems a bit extreme evaluation, but I think it is not far from the truth.

20170804_001955.jpg

These two are both indoor cats and pretty much rule the house. They have a lot of space and many, many options for hunting. Unfortunately, their list of most wanted targets is not what we humans would call an acceptable choice. However, animals will remain animals, and there is not much to be done about the matter.
Max and Elle took their much-needed nap, and I put on one of the TED talks. These speeches always provide you with new knowledge and some valuable information.
During one of the Ted speeches a strange, buzzing noise started to interrupt my focus. But it still was not loud enough for me to get up and see what was going on. So, I continued to watch the clip and trying hard to ignore that disturbing noise. It was not long when my troops come running down the stairs, jumping around and causing a lot of rumbles to spook the intruder.
What the…?!? It was an enormous hornet, and my cat tried to catch it. The creature had to be at least 5 cm big and strong as an ox. Not a good prospects for him, right?

I was literally catapulted off the sofa, the second I realized what that strange noise/intruder really was. Just before one of my ˝deadly predators˝ managed to get to the creature I grabbed the one who was the bravest. There was no time to be nice, friendly or trying to talk him out of his intention. No, I had to grab him in a very aggressive way and pulled him away from the potentially disastrous situation.
I swear if the look had the ability to harm a person I would have been seriously hurt. After the shock and resentment, his eyes were saying to me: ˝What the hell, dude! Why did you do that? ˝
Well, my little one I have only saved you from getting seriously hurt.
After grabbing and sending my two nuisances out of the room, I somehow managed to get the flying horror out of the house and calm myself down.

Even though no one else shared my sentiments, I felt like a true hero. I saved my pet from the pain hard to imagine, thankfully.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26