Cats CAN and DO Love You! Here's Why...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cat7 years ago (edited)


My cat, Shadow, loves me. He shows it in subtle and non-subtle ways, but he loves me nonetheless.
While this may be my opinion, I fully believe that cats are very capable and willing to love and bond with their owners and today I will be discussing how they display their unique affection.
"BUT!!!! Cats can't love!"
"Cats don't care about their owners!!"
This is where I let out a big sigh. Every time someone says this I have to refrain from getting up from where I was comfortably petting my cat and yelling about how they couldn't be more wrong.
The notion that cats don't or can't love us has always been passed down and considered "common knowledge" because of the way they interact with their owners.
But most of the reasons why cats seemingly don't love you are either misinterpreted or simply untrue. The truth of it is that cats just have a different way of showing their affection.
When always compared to the insane, bouncy, and in-your-face energy of a dog , cats can and do seem disinterested and non-caring. (and believe me, I LOVE DOGS. So this is largely unbiased). Dogs love you, and so do cats.
Allow me to explain.

Part 1. Awww! Cats Showing Affection.


I recently stumbled upon this video titled Cat Acts Like a Baby in which a man talks about how his cat Garfield has bonded to him to the point where he begs to be held so that he can lick his face. It's a prime example of the type of affection that cats can show that isn't just to get food/treats. This isn't disinterest, quite the opposite. Garfield just wants to show love and affection. (And give kisses!! Queue the Awwwws).


I also came across a popular video about the reunion of Christian the Lion and the two people who raised him. This is, by far, the most touching and incredible displays of love that I've seen from a cat, and it's not just because of the "I will Always Love You" Whitney Houston backing track. Christian (a lion) bonded with them enough to recognize and show excitement after not being with them for years.

Part 2. Cats Love You, But it's Quieter.

Like I stated before, when compared to dogs, cats can seem totally disinterested. This is simply because dogs are more apt to be hyperactive and [more] easily excited. While that may be true for some cats, most are seen as aloof and non-caring because they aren't as in-your-face, codependent, and needy as dogs are. (Which is not to say that dogs shouldn't be this way, it's pretty adorable).

Cats also take care of themselves to a degree. They clean themselves, they go to the bathroom on their own terms, and are generally more "quiet". Think of dogs and cats as extroverts and introverts. The average cat likes their alone time, and prefers to keep to themselves most of the time. But that doesn't mean that they don't love you and share a bond with you.

In fact, Cats place themselves near you in order to be around you. If you notice, your cat may sit in the same room as their human or follow them around the house like a shadow. It's a quieter love, but no less noticeable if you know where and how to look for it.

Part 3. Cats Display a Different Kind of Love

"Cats have scent glands all over their body and they use them to leave a scent mark on objects (and in this case, YOU). The bunting and rubbing are reserved for bonding, social, comforting and friendly purposes," - Source.
Every single time I bend down on all fours and put my head down, my cat Shadow comes to me and nudges my head.
He also scratches at my bedroom door just to come up on my bed and knead at my arms and face. He scoots next to me, really close, and sleeps like that.

"BUT!! They also just PRETEND to love you to get food from you!"
Sure, they may just show affection and love you because you're giving them food, but that is still love. You are providing them shelter and food that they wouldn't have otherwise. Even if they are independent, they are smart enough to know that you are caring for them. And they appreciate that.

Love comes in all different shapes and forms. Whether it be a nudge on the leg or a lick on the head or even sitting next to you quietly, cats love you.
They love you more than you think.

What ways does your cat show its affection and love towards you? Share in the comments below! I would love to read them.
Deana

Sort:  

Thanks! I loveeee cats so much. (As you can probably tell! lol).

I know right? They do speak to our hearts If only they could talk our language too.

That is so true. They have a different way of speaking their love, but if we listen close enough we can hear it loud and clear!

Love cats. We have four rescues, and an outsider that wants nothing to do with us but feed him.

That's wonderful!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70