My Neighbour Black Cat

in #cat8 years ago (edited)

There is this scruffy looking black cat who is hanging around in our neighbourhood in the summertime. I have no idea where he is in the winter. I think it's a male but I'm not sure. He have been around for all the 4-5 years I have been living here. I have no idea if he has an owner or someone else who is feeding him. Sometimes I invite him in for some tuna, cuddles and rolling around on the carpet. He never stay long and he is very polite and quiet. When he wants to go out again he walks to the door and just waits for me to open it.

I had been to the store to buy some food when Black Cat came out of his usual bushes by the road and followed me home. By chance I had bought tuna for a salad, so I had food for him. For some reason he does not eat anything but fish. I have tried to feed him cat food but then he just looks as me with a disappointed look, as if he is saying “do you really think that I'm stupid enough to eat that crap?” He is obviously well fed so I bet he is a good mouse catcher or someone else is feeding him fish also.



I have considered calling the Animal Protection Shelter, I have worked there a few times as a volunteer. They have a big house and all the cats are well taken care of and are allowed to walk around freely. They also have a closed garden where they can get some fresh air. It was a challenge to wash the floors because there was kittens who wanted to play with the mop. Taking the dishes was a challenge too because some of the cats were always jumping onto the sink, trying to drink water from the tap :D It is funny and cute the first 10 times but then you just start getting annoyed.

The reason why I don't want him to go there is that I know he will never get adopted. Why? Because he is Black! I know that sounds really weird but people just don't want black cats because they bring bad luck or whatever. Many of the black cats at the shelter have been there for very many years and I don't think he would be happy being locked up with a lot of other cats in one house for years. There are of course challenges with being a wild, city cat as well, but at least he is free. I have a feeling that he values his freedom as much as I do.
My plan is to just let him wander around in our neighbourhood and invite him to visit whenever he follows me home. Is there any stray cats in your neighbourhood? Is anyone caring about them? Feel free to discuss the problem with stray cats in the comments below.

Sort:  

Keep up the great work @camilla
Upvoted

Wow, he is really pitch black! I love black cats, and I have never seen one so purely black. This superstition / discrimination about black cats is nonsense. I wish people would get over it.

yeah me too, they are just as sweet and friendly as other cats

Keep up the great work @camilla
Upvoted

wow nice post you and cool

thank you :D glad you liked it

Upvoted

Nice @camilla
Shot you an Upvote :)

Nice @camilla
Shot you an Upvote :)

First and second photos make me scare , the cat look at me with a bad thought I think hehehe lol

haha yeah he does look a bit scary at first, but he is really friendly and kind. Looks can be decieving :)

I love cats, I have 2, male and female , I know them when they have bad thoughts usually when they are hungry they look at that way so I give them to eat

cool! make a post about them, whould love to see pictures :)

Thank you , Thank you , Thank you for this great Idea that give me , I was thinking about what I should write, I have never think about my pets, I have 2 cats, fish-tank, chickens and turkeys, thank you again

Hi @camilla
I have a Broom , I hope you do understand what I mean.
A Broom and my wizard pointy hat. All I need is that Black cat for my final spells
UPVOTES away for you
🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

I would not be surprised if he lives with a witch already :D

ADORABLE! You should use the money you earn from this post to buy him some kitty treats!!!

great idea! :D maybe some fresh fish, that would make him happy for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58