Cartoon TV Statement ~ethics of the internet and art.

in #cartoontv7 years ago (edited)

The primary idea of @cartoontv is to have these classic cartoons accessible
by everyone and have them stored permanently on the blockchain, . I left
facebook believeing Steemit is a social networking site. I am sharing
cartoons the same way I would in a Facebook group, Not everyone in the world
has access to these shows, let alone streaming services like netflix. The
reason I joined steemit and dtube was freedom to share art,.. to get away
from Facebook and Netflix., (Which is all junk anyways)

Uploading to steemit allows a permanence, these will always be on the block
chain now, I think that is so cool, I am uploading cartoons that people
around the world would otherwise not have the chance to see, for example here
where I live we have many blocks and regulations for what content we are allowed
to view over the internet, -- and seriously, cartoons and media is art to me!

People do care about cartoons thats why they are getting upvotes. Like I
said, my intentions are not to profit or "steal" from content, Rick and Morty
is released for free by the creators, it is all over youtube as it is, Some of the Bugs Bunny I have is from 1940, where else are people going to get the chance to see these pieces of history and how its developed into a culture.

Sharing art in this manner ensures that itll be preserved and always exist,
it takes me time and effort to convert upload and ensure these videos are put
on properly and the revenue I gain, (which is unregulated crypotcurrency)
stays put in the account. and really $30 steem isnt alot of monetary value,
some of the users flagging my posts are posting nude photos of themselves
daily and make upwards of $100 in steem.


snap.jpg

The internet and social networking is ment to share stuff and create
conversation, we are creating decentralized services to get away from
bureaucracy and policing of content.

Any effort to regulate content based on a view that my account should be persecuted because it is gaining attention completely negates the whole philosophy behind the decentrailzed platform we
are choosing to use,


it takes power time and energy to be on steem, and I
want to use it to archive my favourite cartoons,. i'm sorry to see steemit
becoming centralized and policed this isnt google, this isnt youtube for a reason,.

If dtube adds a demonetize option when uploading surely I will click that but
so far I have prefaced every upload with a similar statement,
I do not claim to own this content simply uploading to preserve and share
the art of classic cartoons

... at which point in time did beethovens music go from being a his own to
public domain,. I'm just trying to add cartoons and lightness to this otherwise heavy heavy world. there is so much spam and junk out there anyways
I'm kinda hurt you guys are choosing to get so upset. So i'll slow it down for now but theres alot to think about on both sides of this debate.


Steemit was never about making money to me, it's about ease of sharing and storing content, art, and culture. Even these conversations are important to the unfolding of how our species progresses, if people are enjoying the cartoons and noones getting harmed so be it pick your fights, start going after the people who spam post junk.
~ your friendly neighborhood spiderman

@cartoontv

Just some thoughts, #Freedom

Sort:  

I loved all these Cartoons all of my life and as a kid it was such a TREAT to go to a Drive-In Movie and see some Looney Toons before the main picture. Young people today will never know the Fun of going to a Drive-In and watching Bugs Bunny say "What's Up Doc ?"...........You are doing a great service and I salute this effort !

you get the point exactly! thats what its all about!! thanks my friend

It sickens me how full of shit you are!
This is theft on a couple levels.

you say:

Steemit was never about making money to me

Then set your posts to no pay outs and prove it.
Send all your steem power and sbd to me or is that another lie from the pile of bullshit your posting here?

If you do not send me all your sbd and steem power from everything you make on steemit then tht is just the first of many lies you have made in this post that I am going to call out.

Cheers

I will be giving you links to posts soon.

In the meantime

EDIT:
here is the link to the post where I destroy every point you try to make on this post.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@skeptic/a-reply-to-cartoon-tv-statement-ethics-of-the-internet-and-art-by-cartoontv

haha read your story, even tho it was blocked as spam,,,,. i have made no money off this, and what gives you the right to it any more then me>. I'm going to quit uploading anyway, but can't you see that people DO want these cartoons on steemit, regardless of what old white man owns the copyrights to it. The people that have made these have already made their money, and the money in steem i get is basically advertsising fees to turn them into life long rick and morty fans, but the money doesnt come from them, its all wins in my opinion. like You even said this shit is everywhere regarldess , lets make a hub on steem to access it,- I cant go on every app on my phone, BUT i can go on @esteem
so when i am travelling i go on my @esteem and watch @cartoonTV, why are so many people against this based off of ownership laws in countries we dont live in! what is really at stake for you here @skeptic chill bb

LMFAO!

regardless of what old white man owns the copyrights to it

So now its about color of ones skin? you really think only white people made old cartoons?

Its obvious your making a lot of accounts and doing nothing but trying to upload other peoples work. you are even trying to pretend your a surfer on the third account I found of yours.

@ajdeswart and @brado

Go kill yourself you racist scammer piece of shit.

xD

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :)

thank you so much, cheers.

Very well said. Nice post

thank you for the support, ill continue on!

Happy happy joy joy! :-) You got a new faithful follower here. Full support, loved the idea.

is this Ren and stimpy.

You're very welcome dear friend.

Cartoon Network, iTunes, Hulu and other venues have spent the money and time to secure PERMISSION to host those episodes. You are blatantly committing piracy and if you continue to do this, authorities will come after you AND the people who are downloading the content.

I appreciate your love of cartoons - especially Rick and Morty - but we can't let Steem(it) become a place where piracy is encouraged. It will bring down the network. Steem is decentralized, Steemit is not (yet).

So long as you're collecting profits from someone else's work, your words come off as hollow.

Looney Tunes OR Looney Toons ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25