80s and 90s cartoons and Anime - How they have influenced my life and childhood

in #cartoons80s7 years ago

I'm pretty sure that everyone growing up had either a favorite game, toy, tv show or cartoon.

I understand that not everyone would have grown up in similar environments, yet I would like to believe that even then there would be at least some good memories that could be retained along with the bad. For as the saying goes, every cloud has a silver lining.

For this post I would like to share the shows that I grew up with, specifically the cartoons.

Growing up I was surrounded by many relatives, from my great grandmother, my grandparents, my parents and siblings, aunts and uncles, and my many cousins. We were a closely-knit family back then. Sure our family has expanded rapidly since then,while many have drifted apart yet most of us still remain close. We enjoyed many things together and some of them included cartoons.

Hence, part of the fond memories, lessons, beliefs and developed philosophy that I still retain today come from the cartoons I watched as a child. Sure many tell me that I'm either childish, I should grow up or I'm just outdated, yet I feel that there are things that you could learn from even 'old' cartoons.

Sure they may be 'old versions' of the current 'trends' these days, yet I find these oldies to be goodies.

Like most kids who enjoyed the classic Disney Movies here is a list of the Disney Films I enjoyed:

  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Jungle Book
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • Robin Hood
  • Peter Pan
  • Sword in the Stone
  • The Aristocats
  • 101 Dalmations

Listed below are several images of cartoon series logos of the cartoons I loved as a kid apart from the classic Disney Movies.

Kimba.JPG - Kimba the White Lion

Filmations_Ghostbusters_Logo.jpg - Filmation's version of Ghostbusters

Realghostbusters_title.jpg - The Real Ghostbusters

TransformersG1Logo.jpg - Transformers Generation One

Mylittleponymovieposter.jpg

My_Little_Pony_(TV_series)_title_card.jpg - My Little Pony Generation One

1966_Batman_titlecard.JPG - Batman TV series starring Adam West

220px-Looney_tunes_careta.png - Looney Tunes

TomandJerryTitleCardc.jpg - Tom and Jerry

Super_Friends.jpg - Super Friends

Captain_Planet_and_the_Planeteers_title.jpg - Captain Planet and the Planeteers

TMNT1987Series.png - Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Series 1987

G.I._Joe_Cartoon_1985_Title.jpg - G.I. Joe

Batman_the_Animated_Series_logo.jpg - Batman the Animated Series

Princess_Knight-1.jpg - Princess Knight (Ribon no Kishi) - it was developed in the 1950s but aired around the 1960s

He-ManShe-RaChristmas.jpg - He-man & Masters of The Universe and She- Ra Princess of Power

Jem.jpg - Jem

CBMII_poster.jpg - Care Bears

Casper_the_Friendly_Ghost_issue_No.1_(March,_1991).jpg - Casper the Friendly Ghost

Venus_Wars.jpg - Venus Wars

TheNutcrackerPrincePoster.jpg - The Nutcracker Prince

X-men-animated-series-intro.jpg - X-men : The Animated Series

Extreme_Ghostbusters.jpg - Extreme Ghostbusters

SMVolume1.jpg - Sailor Moon

Bukkun.png - Dragon Ball Z

Cardcaptor_Sakura_vol1_cover.jpg - Card Captor Sakura

One might wonder how is it that I am able to remember these many cartoons after so many years.
Yet, in my case I tend to remember things which I hold dear or things which have influenced me on a deep level.

As a little girl, I was a dreamer and tended to be the odd one out apart from being the only girl especially when spending time with my relatives from my father's side . On mum's side, I had more girl cousins but not all were my age and our interests differed more.

I seemed to find solace in watching cartoons and singing along as the story played, especially when it came to the Care Bears, My Little Pony and Jem and the Holograms. There were even times I would dance along, or at least try to while watching the Nutcracker Prince.

Sometimes my cousins and I (the ones my age were mainly boys on Dad's side till my younger cousins were born) would role-play as either the Ninja Turtles dressed up in masks and jumping up and down from furniture or pretending that there were ghosts around and we would shoot and capture them like the Ghostbusters but with noisy toy guns if not water guns. Otherwise we would imagine that we were Warriors and helping the Great Rebellion or the Masters of the Universe to save He-man and She-ra from the Horde. That is, if we weren't taking turns being superheroes or becoming soldiers in battle like in G.I. Joe or the Justice League/ Super Friends .

Here are a few values and possible influences which I hold today from watching or still watching those cartoons:

  • love for music, singing and dancing
  • interest in martial arts
  • unwavering imagination
  • value of making friends and how much I care about others
  • my belief and interest in magic and mythical creatures
  • fantasy of being a female warrior like She-ra and Princess Sapphire or having powers like Sailor Moon
  • love for animals and their well-being
  • value of adventure and fantasy
  • child-like and sometimes childish mind
  • interest in astronomy

I'm pretty sure that there are a lot more cartoons I could list down and more values. Though that's all for now.
There are many reasons that these cartoons hold a special place in my heart. Some would be self-explanatory from what values and lessons I gained from them or it's as simple as I find them entertaining.

Everyone will value things differently. Some may like the same thing while others don't. Yet, what I believe is that there's no right or wrong on what you like and where you find your lessons and values. As that's what develops you as a person and it's what makes you unique.

Thank you for dropping by and have a great day ^_^

*Disclaimer & Reference: The images shown are referenced from Wikia and Wikipedia

Sort:  

Upvoted, desu-ne!
Banner

Arigato smug-chan :)

All of these cartoons also remind me of my childhood. Thank you, great article

You're welcome and thank you too :D

Congratulations @lunamairin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33