Discussion of the Kotaku.com "How Western Animation Has Changed" Article

in #cartoon8 years ago

Discussion of the Kotaku.com "How Western Animation Has Changed" Article


In my Facebook newsfeed, this article written on August 31st, 2016 by Brian Ashcraft for Kotaku.com featured an observation made by modern cartoonist Harry Partridge of how cartoon styles differed over the decades.

Cartoon Styles from 90s to 10s
Harry Partridge via Twitter

Another user on Twitter posted the full image with more decades:

Cartoon Styles from 70s to 00s
Harry Partridge via Scott Hood via Twitter

The comments add a lot of insight that I thought that this author could have covered in this article. In addition, I think he needed point out that the focus was on animation for television programs and NOT featured films.

Since I logged my share of hours of watching these cartoons, I wanted to share some of my quick thoughts about the differences in animation style over the decades:

1960-70's: Hanna Barbera cartoon mill

80's: Awesome Japanese-based tweening studios

90's: Disney's multi-city wordwide 24/7 animation revival

2000-05: CGI push off the cliff while every one else watched anime imports

2006 to today: More studios, more independent productions, more distribution channels

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. Be sure to follow me for more cartoon and animation discussions. Thank you for reading!

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

HappyHarryToons Harry Partridge tweeted @ 13 Jun 2015 - 21:29 UTC

A quick thing I doodled to show the differences I perceive in 2010s TV animation design vs 1990s. Thoughts? http://t.co/dykLQT7wDI

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44