Saving cash by servicing your car at home.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars7 years ago

First would like to give a little introduction about my self. I am in love fixing and trouble shooting engine problems, and I am a aircraft mechanic by profession. I don't have a workshop however I fix cars in my free time. So this guys called and said that a friend of mine referred him and he is facing some issues with his car. I asked him to bring in his vehicle and I will fix it. So he came and I test drove the car, the drive was quite heavy and it was running rich, it had some idling issues as well. I knew it at the first place that the issue is with the throttle body. So I am going post the whole procedure so everyone can learn how to do it. As every vehicle is different so I am not going to explain the air intake opening procedure as it varies for each car. Once the intake in removed you need to locate the throttle screws first and the sensor grips. There are 2 sensors on the throttle body TPS and IACV value. TPS is the throttle position sensor it monitors the airflow and send the signal to ECU. The IACV valve is the Idle air speed control valve it is responsible for idling speed. There are 2 water pipes entering the idle speed sensor as well. The water flows through the IACV and varies the rpm as per engine temperature. On a clod start the engine RPM are high but then they get back to normal as the engine reached the operating temperature. Okay once the throttle body is detached from the engine you need a carburetor cleaner to clean up. Then coming to the IACV, in most cases it is screwed up with 4 Philip screws, you need to open them and take the housing off. Here you need to be careful with the IACV gasket. You need to take it off and inspect it and keep it one safe spot. For now I won't going more details about the IACV as it gets a bit technical. All you need to do is fill the IACV housing with carburetor cleaner and let it rest for a while. After 5 minuets you need to clean it with a brush and then you need to install it back to the throttle body. Remember to put the gasket back as most of the times people forget to do that. Once that is done you just need to put the throttle body back, check the coolant level put back on the air intake assembly and you are goo to go. In my next post I will be explaining about the TPS sensor and it's adjustments.20170814_143721.jpg20170814_143725.jpg20170814_143134.jpg2017-08-15 12.29.01.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @zeeshan207! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65051.86
ETH 3163.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54