You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 years in the making [#1] Rebuilding and restoring a 30 year old BMW - twice.

in #cars7 years ago

Really enjoyed that blog!!! I had one of these in 1990 and bloody loved that car; honestly wished I had kept it now.

Sort:  

Oh wow you had it in its day, that must've been something. I imagine it to be a tad more special than having a 3 series today as I guess in its day it was just a vastly different driving experience. Care to share what model you had? Any pictures? :)

I had a 1988 320i and it was amazing! I've got an 2016 BMW X3 now and you feel so removed from the driving experience in it and I miss the rawness of older cars. I have photos somewhere in a box at my parents house - but what I have got there is the original sales brochure, which I've kept all these years. Here are a few pics :-) IMG_1154.JPGIMG_1155.JPG

IMG_1156.JPG

Just saw this, awesome pictures. That must've been the standard UK brochure? I had one once which contained exactly the car you see above 325i, 'Salmon Silver metallic' with that small sports package but it fell victim to a move couple of years back and I never saw it again.

Thanks for sharing! I hear you as far as the driving experience goes if you go from an E30 to an E46 you already get this new generation, more distant, secluded driving experience in the cabin.

Moving on to something like an X3 or current gen 3 or 5 series doesn't feel anymore new or futuristic really it's just even more distant and, for me, too far removed. The E46 and 38/39 were really the pinnacle of refined, high tech travel without completely taking the driving experience out of the equation.

Interesting stuff for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39