Hybrid doesn't mean boring, or slow

in #cars8 years ago

So you want a supercar, but you also want something ecofriendly? That's quite the dilemma, or at least it use to be. All the heavy hitters are producing hybrids, Ferrari, Porsche, McLaren, just to name a few. They are sexy, powerful, and expensive, all the things you look for in a supercar. I know what you're thinking, and yes, they are a bit heavier than the traditional supercar, but don't worry, they are still capable of taking you north of 200 mph.

Ferrari LeFerrari


Source

The daddy of supercars has stepped into the ring, and this car is beautiful like most Ferrari's, but is it fast? Well, the 6.3 liter V12 with the electric motors produce a whopping 950 horsepower and 715 lb-ft of torque, and a unconfirmed top speed somewhere above 217 mph, so yea, its properly fast. So if you have 1.4 million and you want to show your buddy with the Prius what a cool hybrid looks like, this is the perfect choice.

McLaren P1


Source

The P1 has a top speed of 219 mph, so it certainly goes like a supercar, and its beautiful also. I think this is one of the sexiest cars ever, with 904 HP and 723 lb-ft of torque total, it has plenty of power. 904 horsepowers not enough? Well, you can upgrade to the P1 GTR witch has 87 more horses, and a top speed of 225 mph.

Porsche 918


Source

The 918 has a naturally aspirated 4.6 V8, along with the electric motors it makes 887 horsepower, and a top speed of 210. It isn't as flashy, or quick as the McLaren, or Ferrari, but its also a bit cheaper as well, so if you want a hybrid supercar, but only have 850 grand in the bank account, this is the car for you.

Mercedes Benz SLS AMG Electric Drive


Source

Want something a bit more electric? This is the supercar for you, its as sexy as the SLS, just a bit more quiet. Making 740hp and 737 lb-ft of torque from the electric motors it will reach 60 mph in 3.6 seconds, its quick, and the iconic gull wing doors come standard.

These are all great choices, and if Audi ever produces the R8 e-tron we will have another to add to this list. With these, plus some other manufacturers, and of course Tesla, the hybrid and electric cars have come a long way, and I'm excited to see whats next.

Sort:  

Yea, I'd love a few million to buy them all.

Beautiful cars and great article, please keep writing more of these. Thanks for sharing. The Porsche 918 is one of my favorites. Upvoted

Thank you! I really enjoy writing about cars, I have loved anything with wheels for as long as I can remember. The 918 is amazing, but I'd be happy with either of these. I really hope the automotive community grows here, because I love reading about amazing rides as much as I enjoy writing about them.

I agree and you're most welcome. When I get the time I'll be sure to write up an article about cars when I figure out what area I'd like to focus on. Can never go wrong with supercars

Yea, I've written about supercars, alternative fuel powered cars, muscle cars, and trucks. Sadly cars haven't caught on yet, but I'm hoping that changes.

Well keep up the great work. I'll ipdate you if I write up a nice article on cars soon. Just right now focused on this short story I'm releasing at the moment called They Didn't See It Beneath Them

Thanks for upvoting my newest guitar post. Nice car you are displaying here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75