What about my car?

in #cars6 years ago

Hello steemians!

I present to you the ‘Pilot episode’ of “What about my car?” This rubric is all about cars and their origins. Good news is that you can actually participate in it. Don’t worry, there are only two simple rules:

  1. Let me know in the comments field what car* you own or you dream of
  2. I will reply to you when will be the relevant article posted.
    *Please provide the manufacturer, the model, the year and modification (if available).

You are wondering what the content of that post would be? In the article you will find overview, Pros & Cons, evolution, followed by pictures and/or videos and fun facts about the car you have requested.

I guess it’s enough talking. Let’s get down to the fun part. I am going to start with a car which I don’t own but hopefully one day I will. And that’s the Audi A8.

What about Audi A8 (2009)?

2011-audi-a8-42-quattro-photo-358997-s-original.jpg

Overview

2009 is the last year of the second generation A8 production. This is a vehicle combining style, luxury and power. On the market you can choose between standard (short) wheel base and long wheel base.
The light aluminum chases are compensating the weight of the big 4.2L V8 engine which generates 340 PS (250 kW) and accelerates from 0-100 km/h for only 6.4 seconds.
In this model Audi presented for the first time 6-speed automatic transmission, driver identification system, adaptive air suspension, multi media interface and many other innovations.

Pros & Cons

People say:

the bigger the car is
the harder to park gets

I personally think that this depends on the driver of course and besides you can get used to it. The permanent all-wheel drive system will help you go through tough terrains.
Sounds good, eh? But yetagain we all know that nothing is perfect, just like the A8’s multimedia interface - it's known to be not very intuitive. But would that stop you buy such a reliable and comfortable car?

Evolution

A8 1994-2002 (first generation)

audi-a8-d2-1994-1995-1996-1997-1998-1999-2000-2001.jpg
audi-a8l-6-0-quattro-d2-2001-02-pictures-1600-x-1200.jpg
1997_audi_a8_sedan_quattro_i_oem_1_500.jpg

A8 2002-2009 (second generation)

Audi A8 4.2L 2008 front.jpg
carpixel.net-2008-audi-a8-us-28604-wide.jpg
Audi-A8L_quattro_mp4_pic_62041.jpg

A8 2010-2017 (third generation)

2013-audi-a8-hybrid-20-front-view.jpg
Audi A8 Hybrid 2013 rear.jpg
2014-audi-s8-interior-wallpaper-8.jpg
audi-a8-hybrid-production-version-2012-interior-5.jpg

A8 2017-present

800px-Audi_A8_D5_in_Auta_na_náplavce_in_Prague,_Czech_Republic.jpg

Fun fact

There are 36,520 stitches on the leather interior of the second generation A8.

Sort:  

Hi. Well, I do like the A8 as of D3 generation and now it is certain that now D4-gen is quite achievable in terms of it getting (at least in the EU) 20.000 EUR mark for second hand one. I would then suggest to have a thorough check of its all systems if in working condition.

I had the same doubts, in terms of C7 vs. D4; but nonetheless, I do believe already C7 being quite large car - was not really a need for D4 - it just being more heavier, slower and almost the same tech. The only extra AFAIK A8 has, is soft-close. LWB is just pointless option just to show off among lads. The choice was obvious - I daily drive an A6 C7 3.0TDI q.

Well, any comments about lack of intiuition of the MMI is just bullshit, not the reason for giving up the choice. The ONLY REASON why anyone would choose rivaling F10/W212/GS etc. is that they are afraid of S-Tronic weak points, are scared away from some difficult options such as air suspension and want a true RWD platform (FWD is, I believe, the least desired opt).

For more of my automotive thoughts, please see my blog.

Hi, thanks for sharing your oppinion. You are so lucky to drive such a great car :)

I apsolutely agree that the S-tronic could cause some problems after 120 000 kilometers.
I don't think that F10's transmission is more reliable in comparison with the S-tronic. In-fact it is actually pretty unsuccessful. Many people suffered the lack of power and jerking problems in the lower RPM in under 60 000 - 70 000 distance. When it comes to the dilema RWD or AWD I think that this depends of the style of driving.

You have inspired me to write an article about A6 C7 and I will aim to complete it on 02.02 Friday : )

Not just 120.000km and not always. Most affected are early models, facelift seems to be more or less OKish. Stronic is QUITE the magnificant when it works, for the most of the time, but it is fragile as hell. You are not entirely correct, with 3.0 diesel setup it is really zero lack of power issues. One of the mechanical issues is that S-Tronic does not enjoy traffic jams and it heats up very easily, because changing from 1-2-1-2-1-2-1 gear for prolonged time renders a disastrous lava hot oil explosion and dead control unit. That control unit and labour does not cost marbles.. IF you need better choice, there is other option - at least the 3.0BiTDI version of 313HP and RS6 has a different gearbox - conventional and great ZF 8-speed automatic gearbox and you wonder why? Because S-tronic cannot handle that much Nm.

If somebody mentions FWD model, haha, go and F yourself with that garbage + multitronic.

For more of my honest automotive thoughts, please see my blog.

Point taken, the detail with the traffic jams and 1-2-1-2 gave me good idea what could happen and that is good to know.
Well.. basicly I haven't mentioned a front wheel drivetrain anywhere. technically speaking I agree that RWD is much better but let's be honest - not everyone can drive RWD. I mean I am looking the things at the manufacturer's point of view.. they must cover every style of driving, every need of the customer.

..Btw, you do remind of Jeremy Clarkson :D

Would love to see this series take off - Upvoted. Let's see what you have to say about my cars :) 1993 Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R. 1997 Mazda RX7 FD3S Type RS. 1991 Toyota MR2 SW20 :)

You're like living the dream... AWESOME cars.
I appreciate the opportunity you are giving me with that kick up start!
I will post the article for the R32 GT-R on Wednesday 07.02
Cheers! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51