Pro Tip When Buying A Used Car

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

I bought this Evo IV without looking underneath the car and I wish I had...here are the pictures. I'm screwed as this will fail the JCI inspection that is required on all cars in Japan. The JCI is due in a month..maybe I'll just make it an off-road car only?!?

Lesson to learn is to make sure you look underneath always and never trust the seller's word that it's good and rust free

KIMG1823.JPG

KIMG1822.JPG

KIMG1819.JPG

KIMG1821.JPG

KIMG1820.JPG

KIMG1818.JPG

KIMG1817.JPG

Sort:  

Had a buddy of mine who bought a mustang and didn't check underneath, his axle literally rusted through and snapped as he backed out of his driveway one day, Thankfully he wasn't on the road, or it would have been an even harder lesson learned.

Wow! That's really bad. Lesson learned indeed, I should have driven it to a lift down the road, but I took his word for it...never again.

AH RUST! Bummer. Ive had the same thing happen to me with several cars that were too low to look under them good. Dont feel bad the bottom of my g35 is scraped to hell from being so low! I love japan culture and import vehicles. JDM 4 LIFE! i will follow you i look forward to seeing your posts! Thanks. This is my turd lol.

Very nice ride! Looks like a Skyline :)

Thank you! Unfortunately it’s not. It’s a usdm car. But it is a 6mt with a hydro e brake and aftermarket clutch. So it’s fun!

That's an awesome setup you have there. It's an infiniti right?

Thanks it is an Infiniti g35

Yeah! Those are the new age skylines in Japan believe it or not. It was just rebadged as the Infiniti g35 in the states.

It is rust there no doubt but it is repairable where i don't see a major problem except the pipe on the rear part and if it doesn't whistles of course is that suspension parts and links and brake lines are in a good shape. Thanks for sharing anyway.

The third picture is the worst, it's rusted right through to where I'm touching the floor mats from underneath. My whole hand fits through lol. That's no good at all.

Indeed this is a ..giant hole and looks scary but it can be easily weld and sealed, it is work to be done but can be done.

Dude sorry to hear man, would it not be worthwhile sorting this out yourself? Do you have any welding gear etc?

I'm very limited with no garage and no equipment. I was quoted $7,000 USD to get it fixed correctly with new panels. I'm also limited to how many cars I can have during my stay in Japan, so I'd be down my DD. I found a buyer for $2,000 USD and I'll just get a normal car for now, a Subaru Legacy Wagon lol, but it has a turbo!

I'd give you $2k USD but we can't import them here it's not on our bullshit "collector's list"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19