Cars Of Japan - A Photo Album Of My Best Car Shots From All Over Japan

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

As a car enthusiast, I was very excited to see the car culture in Japan. I am happy to say I was not disappointed. We saw tons of cool rides and I got pretty lucky with a few of my pictures.

McLaren MP4-12C Spider, Terso edition by FAB Design.

I spotted this McLaren on the streets of Tokyo and got super lucky with this shot. I managed to capture the car along with the sky and view of the street.

At the time I knew the car was a McLaren, but I had no idea which model. After some research, It turns out this is 1 of 10 McLaren MP4-12C Spiders dubbed the Terso edition by FAB Design. 

It has upgraded engine components that result in 671hp and 527 lb.-ft of torque. The Terso edition also gets a custom body kit among a laundry list of upgrades completed by FAB Design.

I found an album online with this image which shows just how rare this car is. Check out the Terso album here.

Image Source: sub5zero.com

Subaru Impreza WRX STI on a bridge outside of Sasebo, Japan.

I am quite proud of this 2017 STI picture. The bridge and sun make for an awesome shot.


My chosen brand/obsession within car culture is SUBARU. My current daily driver is an 02 WRX wagon.

As a Subaru enthusiast, it was my obligation to visit the STI museum in Tokyo. I am saving the best photos for an exclusive Steemit post on the museum, but here are a few.

Here they have a 22B STI and Colin McRae's 1998 3rd place finishing SanRemo Impreza. 

The 22B is a very special car. In 1998 Subaru made just over 400 22Bs commemorating the 40th anniversary of the company. The car sold out in 24 hours. The 22B also marked the 3rd consecutive manufacturer's title in the World Rally Championship. 

In short, the car is much faster than its impreza counterpart and boasts widebody fender flares resembling the real rally car.

Subaru Levorg STIs Spotted in Tokyo

The Levorg is a hatchback Subaru that is only sold in Japan.

Mazda AZ-1 Autozam in Nagasaki

I had never seen or heard of this car until I saw it in Nagasaki. The Mazda AZ-1 Autozam actually has gullwing doors! How cool is that? I found this pic on tumblr that shows it:

Image source: tumblr.com

The way everyone parks 

It is very rare to see a car parked that has not been backed in. The Japanese do this religiously.

This picture taken in the outskirts of Nagasaki gives a good glimpse into what most Japanese people drive. They have little box shaped cars that are practical and just wide enough to traverse the narrow streets of Japan.

1990 Nissan 300ZX in Nagasaki

Subaru Legacy Wagon in Tokyo

Mercedes-Benz in Hakone

The most common car for wealthy Japanese is Mercedes-benz. Whenever I saw a German car, 90% of the time it was an expensive Benz.

Mercedes-Benz AMG SL65 in Tokyo

V12 Biturbo

Also note the driving position. This was a rare sight in Japan.

Nissan GTR

2005 WRX STI in Tokyo

Mini Camper in Nagasaki

Anime Lexus in Tokyo

Michelle and I recently took a month to travel across Japan and China. It was epic! Follow me @slickwilly and Michelle @curiouser for posts about our adventures!    

 Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  

Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.

All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

Sort:  

Wow my favourite shot is the one of the Subaru Impreza WRX STI on the bridge chasing the sun! I may just make that my screensaver.
Brilliant post....

Glad you dig it! & Do it!

Dude nice write up and sweet pictures. That 22B STI just got you a new follower. In general I love the japanese car culture and the whole 'Artisan' thing they got going on.

You just inspired me to start putting out the first part of my JDM in Europe car scooping a bit earlier than originally planned...

tumblr_ols6weUs9h1stsxnko1_1280.jpg

Thanks for sharing, truly appreciated!

wow that Mazda AZ-1 Autozam :) craaaazy

totally the same reaction.

Ah the 22b. What a beaut

Nice post, the Mazda AZ-1 was my fav, what an exotic car.

Sweet Rides! So cool you got to see them all on your voyage

This is so awesome! I'm a big fan of street cars and I know that Japan has a big car culture. I love the rare McLaren! Only 10 of them exist! Great capture.

If you like japanese cars - check my blog. I got one)

Godzillaaaaaaa <3 :)

The Mazda AZ 1 looks like a compacted Ferrari.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45