BMW E46 320i '99 - Q1 2019 10.000mls Update Pt. 2 | Oil Change, Bluetooth, Track Adjustment

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

On the road to 400.000km


This is my 1999 BMW 320i E46, built in March of that year in Bavaria. Above you see it in some snow with the signature 17" steelies that BMW made for the 330i as a steel rim below 17" wouldn't fit that car's brakes. Upside for any other E46 is you can throw them on as they are free for all models. Downside is a 17" steel wheel is quite heavy, with the tire I estimate over 22kg. But hey they look the part...

Oil Change


Following the crank case ventilation (CCV) restoration in Part 1 it was now time to do an oil change as most of all oil consumption in these M52 and M54 engines comes either from a faulty CCV or a leaking valve cover gasket. Since I changed my gasket a while back when doing the spark plugs and ignition coils...

...I figured any oil consumption must be due to the CCV as the M52 usually never burns any oil at all.

Note: I've had a documented oil consumption on this engine of .3L/1000km or 1/2 a quart on 1000 miles.

Before doing the oil change I bought not only the filter, oil pan screw, O-rings and the oil but also the oil level sensor as mine had been broken for some time. This becomes evident by the level indicator showing up for a few seconds after engine start. Usually it should light up after engine shutoff if oil level is below par.

BMW have used the oil pressure indicator which can see above on the top right only it switches to yellow once indicating oil level instead of pressure.

I purchased Meguin oil which is identical to Liqui Moly only with a different name and considerably lower price.

It's 5W30 and BMW Longlife04 certified. I've used it since day one either in Liqui Moly or Meguin form. Don't let anyone ever tell you it's too thin or to put anything else than 5W30 in the engine. This one's been running with it for almost 400.000km/250.000mls from -20 C to +40 C. I will say that I do run mostly long distance so a pure city commute would probably call for different oil but then again a pure city commute will kill any engine with any oil over time.

Oil filter, screw and o-rings came from BMW:

It's good practice to replace the two small o-rings on the tip of the filtercap as well as the large one around the cap itself.

Here you can see the wrong oilpan screw which BMW provided even with the correct VIN:

It is the second time they made the mistake and the last time I'm buying a screw for the oilpan from them. I did use the new copper ring for sealing.

As usual cover everything in a film of new/old engine oil before fitting the rings.

I bled the oil and it pretty much all came out without using engine flush (I've used it two oil changes ago to great effect).

Once the oil is out you can loosen the 2 nuts and 1 screw holding the oil level sensor, remove the cable plug and pull it out vertically. New one simply goes in the other way.

Here is the new sensor with cable attached waiting for final installation:

Once it's in and oilpan screw is refitted it's time to put the oil in - all 6.5L. Check the level and start engine until oil pressure is up, shut off, recheck level, top up as required and there you go.

Yours truly after successful operation:

Now I also purchased air and interior filter, interior one never arrived so I ordered one from MANN&HUMMEL directly on Amazon. Air filter was SCT:

Here it is directly after engine start a few days later and voila:

No low oil level indicator. Funny enough since this oil change I've driven almost 8.000km/5.500mls and have had zero oil consumption. I actually thought the sensor I installed was faulty and checked the dipstick but the oil is simply at the same level it was after the oil change. Pretty amazing for an engine that's never been opened and has only ever had oil changes, CCV replacement and valve cover gasket replaced.

Micro/Pollen Interior Air Filter


As mentioned above I purchased one from ebay but the dealer never delivered the item so I got my money back and went for the original Mann&Hummel filter which, thanks to Amazon, can be purchased directly from the company for a considerable discount.

I actually maintained the manufacturer guidance on the interval of 40.000km/25.000mls which I do not recommend.

This is the new filter:

This is the old one:

Mind you I don't live in Milan, Italy nor Shanghai, China and I mostly drive through the countryside at high speeds and this is what the filter looks like. I'm going to check it in 10.000km/6.000mls to see how it looks.

The car actually has an automatic air circulation control which may or may not work so given the look of this filter I'll definitely check the condition of the sensor cartridge.

No More Radio | More Bluetooth


For a long time I struggled with finding the right BT adapter to connect phones via blutetooth to the BMW Business CD radio which is actually an Alpine head unit with cd player and a custom BMW frontend.

I finally went for this based on extremely positive reviews, low price of EUR 37 and easy installation - I can confirm all three!

All you do is wedge out the passenger side trim piece and then wedge out the center one from from right to left.

Then you simply unscrew the two radio philips head screws and pull the unit out. The adapter goes between the radio and the car cable harness and the only challenge with it is to place it into the dash in such a way that it doesn't interfer with any cables and the radio can still slide back into place.

The black piece is the BT receiver. It is possible to hook up a mic as to use the full phone functionality but given that I did not want to take apart any more of the interior and I have plenty of excellent BT headsets I passed on that.

Once everything is back in place and you tested it before reinstalling you simply press 'MODE' and the radio will go through radio, CD and to the changer menu. The BT adapter emulates a CD Changer as the input signal of your phone's audio.

The workable functions are fader, TP (traffic), next/previous song and next/previous folder.

All in all a very handy and worthwhile investment without replacing the entire radio or installing an ugly aftermarket unit which ruins the looks.

Track Adjustment


For an even longer time than the radio the track of this car has been misaligned. That is not to say it wasn't going straight or any funny stuff but the steering wheel wasn't dead centered.

So I went to the local tire shop and had them align it. On E46 and many other 3 series BMWs the only adjustable track is the front wheels, rear axle doesn't allow for adjustment much.

It cost me something around EUR65 and track a well as steering wheel position were perfectly aligned and on track afterwards.

Due to corroded track rods (the bars hooked up between the wheel and the steering rack) they had to heat the rods to get the rod to turn on the thread in order to adjust it. I plan to replace those parts once I deal with the suspension rebuilt.

For now it's all straight:

That's it for now


Catch ya next time steemians and please ask any questions you may have! I'll do a full parts/cost rundown in the next part in case anyone's wondering how much it actually costs to daily a late 90s 6 cylinder BMW.

Sneak preview:

Ouh I love those wheels...

Sort:  

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out a previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

I've a friend who knows and loves the cars as much as you do. I often see him working with his car and modifying everything according to his choice, no matter necessary or not.. 😀 And, I like it. it's the only thing he does so passionately.

This post reminded me of him. Found it very interesting to read. Also, nice photos, specially the last one.

Thanks for sharing and have a good day :)

Glad you like it! More to come.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are lucky to know enough and have the confidence to undertake this sort of work yourself. I envy mechanics as I need to learn as I would do so much more if I just knew. Really interesting post.

Thanks but no worries, you can do it too. It's just a matter of trying and keeping on it. That said I did build an E30 including the engine with lots of help a few years back so that helped too.

Hi peterschroeter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Great car Peter!
How much is the car?
Did you pay it installment or cash?

Thanks! I bought it for EUR 2.400 in 2015 and given that number it was cash :). It had 297.000km on the clock when I bought it so that reduced the price substantially but didn't bother me as I know these cars usually always cost the same regardless of mileage if you get a well running and taken care of base.

That's much cheaper I guess.
You're lucky!

The German market is quite complex so you can't really say it's much cheaper overall but we did get a lot of those over a million E46 that were produced so price for very high mileage 20 year old cars does go down substantially. That said we're not even close to the depreciation the euro cars get in the US.

I may just write a post about the different markets some day :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool!
I look forward on your next posts.
Have a great day man!

a very rewarding reading. I do not know anything about mechanics. but as a child I always saw how they repaired cars in the garage of my house. I liked to play that I was the one who fixed them. BMW is undoubtedly one of the best vehicles. I guess you saved money by doing all the work yourself

Glad you liked it! Would agree with about BMWs being the best but they're the best at what I like most - handling, road feel, engine and all that stuff. In terms of reliability you get tons of horror stories, lots are justified. Thing is these cars are in fact sublime driving machines but focus in development is not on simplicity and reliability with the exception of the E30 maybe.

Maintenance is key and it is not cheap and cannot be ignored for long.

Wooaw.... Lovely write up you got in there. I really enjoyed the whole read from the 90's to the present age like you said. You images too are none to be compared to. I really wait to read more great articles about cars from you soon

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man, appreciate your liking the images I'm a great automotive photography fan.

You pictures said it all. Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @peterschroeter
a really interesting post! I like cars, but just drive them, I know very little mechanics, just change a wheel if necessary. You did just a nice newspaper report with excellent descriptions, tips and photos! Congratulations and Thanks for sharing with us!

My pleasure man, glad you enjoyed it. More to come.

Awesome write up, It's great to see these cars still eating up the highway! I saw you posted about the track adjustment not being very adjustable in the rear. The E46 rear subframe does allow significant adjustments for both Camber and Toe. Camber is adjusted at the lower control arm and toe is adjusted with the rear trailing arms. Good job squeezing out all the miles you can, I hope it continues to go well.

No doubt! You're absolutely right, I actually mixed that up with the E30 :) Old habit.

I plan to stick with it and drive it as long as the engine allows since it's pretty much the best daily I can imagine. For longer stretches something heavier and quieter is more comforting though.

With the prices this low I do plan to pick up a 328 if I can find one or alternatively 325/330 with the M54 even though I do not like what the longer stroke setup does to the characteristic, takes the turbine rev style away somewhat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48