Drawing a Subaru Legacy Wagon

in #cars6 years ago

IMG_0903 Steemit.jpg
Having finished my first exam of the year, I decided to take a little break from reading, to draw a car.

Let's draw a Subaru Legacy Wagon

While I'm a fan of Japanese cars from the early '90s in general, few cars carry those sleek, sharp lines as proudly as the first generation Subaru Legacy. While these cars don't necessarily look very modern today, and never became a cult model like the Subaru WRX, they've aged quite nicely, and both the sedan and the wagon still look good. One thing I like about cars with straight horizontal lines is how well they lend themselves to two-tone color schemes, so this post's drawing is of a two-tone Subaru Legacy wagon. I chose the wagon body style because I like wagons.

IMG_0896 Steemit.jpg
IMG_0897 Steemit.jpg
IMG_0898 Steemit.jpg
I started by sketching up the overall shape of the car, and while the proportions always diverge somewhat from reality, I was pleased enough to continue.

IMG_0899 Steemit.jpg
I was pretty happy about how the wheels turned out, but as I had planned to color them black (even though black might not be a color), the happiness was short-lived.

IMG_0900 Steemit.jpg
Once the wheel centers were filled with black, one of the spokes looked really out of place, and some spokes looked thicker than the others because they are seen more from the side, and the black hides the edges, but I guess that's just life (now I have an excuse to use the Life tag). I decided to let the upper part of the two-tone paint be black, as black flows nicely with dark windows.

IMG_0901 Steemit.jpg
A lot of details disappeared, never to be seen again, behind all the black ink. At this point I realized that the straight, horizontal line separating the two tones wasn't very straight.

IMG_0902 Steemit.jpg
I let the interior be defined by the silhouettes of a pair of racing seats and a roll cage.

IMG_0903 Steemit.jpg
The windows looked a bit too transparent, so I gave them some light pen strokes to make sure that they were there. I also colored the brake calipers blue, and added a blue pinstripe under the not so straight, horizintal line separating the two tones.

IMG_0905 Steemit.jpg
That's about it

IMG_0908 Steemit.jpg
Let me know what you think of the drawing, or maybe just the design in general. If you're using SteemAuto.com and like my content, consider adding me to your Fanbase.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Cool

"Having finished my first exam of the year, I decided to take a little break from reading, to draw a car."

A great diversion from studying!

The car looks really cool, thanks for your creative drawing man :)

Thanks for your creative comment, man. It's a pleasure seeing you become more active on Steemit. I hope an occasional upvote keeps you inspired.

Congratulations @oyvindsabo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @oyvindsabo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @oyvindsabo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oyvindsabo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11