The Day My Nissan Skyline GT-R broke.

in #cars6 years ago

This day sucked! I prepped my car as much as I could on the stock twin setup and was aiming for a high 11 second pass but my stupid clutch gave way after the first launch.

The funny thing is, I only realized now after posting this old video is that I was racing an MR2 SW20 and now I own one haha!

I still managed to clock in that first run with a 13.6 without the use of my second gear and the MR2 ran a 13.3 all day long. My first pass was my only one as I wasn't able to accelerate hard in first without my revs climbing and no power to the wheels. Oh well, at least I caught everything on camera.

Sort:  

Hopefully with the time and effort you put into the car it will be ready for war this time around!

I'm actually keen on getting the FD out to an event just to get some numbers down on paper. Then I install DP, intake, tune and other stuff and see what it does thereafter

That would make for some interesting content

Ouch! This one does a number to your chest :'( lol can't wait to see where it goes next

I was planning on does some 600+hp work, big single and all that but I got side tracked buying cars haha!

600hp shove tons of fun and I'd watch that build series for sure

that's sad man! but i'm sure u'll be back.

I hope so :)

ohh you pore thingi:( one of them times, you wiiish ya hadent it all on cam, ;)
'how to break a nissan..' LOL love that

Hahaha, Was so upset that day... Anyway if it wasn't for that event I probably wouldn't have started making my car better and stronger :)

ha ha il bet, i would be utter fuuuuRrious x max^^ aww, soo a perc with the mayham then :D soo il guess wer doing>>>

keep killing EM NissanzZz

That's just so sad to watch.

Imagine how I felt, haha! I was the 3rd car to run at the event, everyone was so hyped because it was a GT-R and I went and blew the clutch!

That was a hella fast MR2! Must of been a turbo with some tweaks right?

He had a stock bottom 3SGTE with some headwork and ARP bolts with an eBay GT35 turbo. He couldn't get faster than 13.3 that day. He wasn't even from South Africa, drove all the way from Zimbabwe lol

I think 13.3 was pretty good, must of had over 300hp to manage that, on a stock bottom. Is the bottom end different on the turbo version? What bhp were you running here?

I was probably a touch over 420hp.. About a year before that I had the car on the dyno at 404hp with the stock boost solonoid at 0.95, at this time I had the EVC 5 fitted and was running 1.15 bar. I was aiming for low 12's or 11.9 if I could but stupid clutch :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56