Detailing the RX7 FD engine bay

in #cars6 years ago

One thing that annoys me is a dirty engine bay!

I took the time early morning whilst my daughter was asleep to attack my engine bay with some engine cleaner, soapy water and a bottle of acetone.

Before

IMG_0138.JPG

IMG_0139.JPG

IMG_0140.JPG

IMG_0141.JPG

After

I spent roughly 1.5 hours detailing the engine bay and am probably 25% of the way, I ran out of time and also have a back injury that I'm patiently waiting to go away so I spent limited time on this.

There are obviously a lot more important things to do on the car, like downpipe and intakes but I felt that I needed to spend some quality cleaning time today.

IMG_0143.JPG

IMG_0144.JPG

IMG_0145.JPG

IMG_0146.JPG

IMG_0147.JPG

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

i spent some quality time with my car this weekend too cleaning her out, the more space you have in a car the more you have to fill, and having a wagon now.. lol

My way of cleaning the engine bay is a little less detailed than yours, empty a can of degreaser into the bay, go back to bed, come back in a few hours after its sat.. rinse repeat a few times [my engine bay was filthy, guy who owned it blew the turbo not long before i got it, oil EVERYWHERE]

You might not have got to do it all yet but on long jobs every bit counts and you'll appreciate what you've done when it comes time to do the next bit! :)

I left the degreaser on for a whole 5 minutes then started killing my back by scrubbing with a toothbrush and acetone in some places... I recently bust my back and have been in recovery so this definitely didn't help me, urgh! Maybe I should do your spray on go to bed and come back method!

Nice, but its hell on your back when you have a bad back mate so be careful.
I try to strip out and then clean parts otherwise you can never get it totally clean. Theres always some dirt in those hard to get to places. Recommend removal of the alternator and UIM, polish em up with a brass brush, clean under and around and then put it all back :)
I took the whole nose off just so I could clean behind it! Maybe I am a bit anal about it....

maybe even try removing a few of those recommended that are easy, covering up all the loose holes and giving it a nice steam bath?!

@jasonwhite I now regret my decision yesterday, I've fried my back again! I should have listened to the physio about the 6 week recovery time, doh! I need to remove the UIM to replace vacuum hoses in the future so that will probably be the best time to do the cleanup :)

It'll give you a warm fuzzy feeling inside when it's completed :)

I desperately need to do mine. I love watching Car Cleaning Guru doing engine bays :)

Those car cleaning guru's definitely have strengthened lower back muscles, I'm feeling useless this morning after that hour and a bit of bending :*)

I feel it to bud, I tidied up garage other day (dried leaves n stuff), the stiff bristled brush takes some effort LOL.

looks great man! is there any way you could come clean my engine bay? and the rest of the car while you're at it :P hahaha
pt.3 hood.jpg

Hah, I'll do it for a domino's pizza and a coke! :D

Great job! you make me feel bad about my dirty engine bay in my supra. Its a white car so its even easier to see how dirty the bay is. I'll get around to cleaning it, sometime around spring time.

Ah that's alright mines been sitting dirty for around a year... you do feel good once it's done though. What Supra do you have? :)

You got a 1.89% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @nelkeljdm!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Buen trabajo, felicidades

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55