Collecting a new car from the farmlands

in #cars7 years ago

IMG_8972.JPG

A usual rainy Sunday would mean being stuck indoors with your loved ones, a binge watch of series, snacks, hot drinks and just plain good old family time.

This is exactly what I did, I spent 5 hours with my father. Quality father son bonding time without the series and snacks but hiring a double axle car trailer from the heart of Durban and driving into the midlands to collect a new addition to the metal family.

IMG_8984.JPG

IMG_8986.JPG

IMG_8987.JPG

The drive to the farmland was roughly 75 minutes at around 100kph so not massively far out from where we live, however you could definitely tell you were away from the air polluted city by smelling the fresh country air.

IMG_8995.JPG

IMG_8996.JPG

When we reached the car we ran into a few issues, the first was turning space within the yard where the car was stored. I managed to maneuver the truck and trailer to allow us to get the car onto the ramp. Unfortunately for us the car had 0 diff oil from a leaky washer, a flat battery and no fuel.

With the help of the ex owner and his wife we pushed the car onto the trailer. About half way on it got caught by the middle exhaust box. I whipped the tools and climbed underneath, I removed the exhaust bolts, clamps and hangers to allow me to remove the obstructing exhaust box.

IMG_8998.JPG

We were finally ready to push the car onto the trailer once again, but first I snapped a few photos. It's a car my dad's wanted for a little while an MG MGB Roadster, I actually forgot to ask what the year model was but I think it's a 1968.

IMG_9000.JPG

IMG_9001.JPG

My father collect's these sort of classic cars along with Vintage and Veteran vehicles dating back to 1919. I'm not really a fan of them but I wanted to spend some automotive time with my old man and well to be fair he did help me load my silver RX7 onto the trailer when it arrived in South Africa.

IMG_9002.JPG

IMG_9004.JPG

IMG_9005.JPG

IMG_9006.JPG

I know it's not exactly a JDM car but I figured I'd show you all what I got up to this afternoon.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Your dad could probably drive a different car every day of the month now and still have some leftover for the next month.

Car looks nice though. I used to work with a guy who has an almost identical one, but in red. We drove along Umhlanga promenade one day with the top down... not looking suspect at all.

hahaha man, you made my day :D

@stefanoff between motorbikes and cars @garethb isn't kidding! Sadly he barely drives any of them, just starts them up and maintains them

I see where you got your got love for cars from. This is a pretty good looking antiquite and the paintjob looks perfect, the chrome details are. so shiny and polished. The classic rims are in a good condition. It's a beatiful yellow lady.
Btw you have beatiful countryside in south africa. I must visit someday.

I believe those rims belong to an MG BGT either way it looks good on the car, he wants to take them off though and put the standard ones back on, not sure what they look like though. It really is beautiful here, I don't get to see it very often as I live on the coast

there is one of there MG few houses from where i'm staying now, it's a MGB GT. the owner was an uncle around 60s, usually sunday morning he wil drive it out.

Those MG BGT's are great too, my dad is restoring two of them.. before he started stripping them he used to drive them around on Sundays too haha. I think it's an old person thing, driving around on a Sunday in a classic

I'm sure your dad is gonna love it! Can't expect everyone to be stuck on JDM cars like us.

Too true bro!

You got a 7.51% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @nelkeljdm!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I didn't realize just how small the MGB was until I saw it on the trailer (which matches its color almost perfectly). I think it looks pretty cool, even if it's not JDM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44