Back to the drawing board....

in #cars7 years ago

I managed to sneak out last night and test out my boost issue on the primary turbo.

I was almost certain I had fixed it but unfortunately not! I still have only 0.1 Bar boost coming in on full load, however the car feels so much smoother, that nasty vacuum leak was definitely causing an issue as it's now smooth as butter through the gears and low RPM and boost comes in really hard with the second turbo.

IMG_2310 - Copy.jpg

After doing hours of research last night I've narrowed it down to the following

  • Knicked or damaged vacuum line to pre control actuator not allowing wastegate to open/close

  • Wastegate actuator control road circlip popped off and rod is not attached to actuator causing flap to stay open and loose pressure

  • Apparently there are vacuum hoses near the vacuum chamber that have restrictor pills in them, I replaced these a while ago with those lumo green ones I had lying around as they were cracking but after researching it seems if you have too much pressure on those lines = less boost and restriction = more boost. I definitely don't have the restrictor pills anymore if they were inside the old lines as I would have thrown them away but I have another RX7 FD3S to steal it from! Lucky me.

  • Damaged charge control valve - Easy, I have one on the other FD to test.

Oh, it's not a boost leak as the turbos share a common Y pipe. If there was a leak it would affect the second turbo too and not allow the pre control actuator to work.

Anyway, back to the drawing board. I'm in no rush to sort this out so will probably mess around on the weekend again.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Lol at sneaking out, :( at it still not working. Hope you get it soon!

Heh, it's not too bad just feels like I have a laggy big single turbo :)

I may just do the poor mans non sequential turbo mod

You're the 'man who can' ;)
You'll sort it.

God help you if you dropped a spanner in there!

I've dropped a screwdriver in there before... spent an hour with a coat hanger and tape :|

I think we're screwed in the UK re: coat hangers...... there all crappy plastic ones now :(

Same here but those cheap 1 Pound stores sell them still

Ehh, I hate that feel when you think it's finally done and it will work but then you get disappointed. This is a turbocharged war. You've lost the battle but not the war. Keep fighting!

Or.... maybe the RX7 has lost both the battle and war... Big single turbo................ MAYBE!

Well, that's a good plan B definetly ^^

Argh that’s a bummer dude. Was so hoping you’d have it running properly now.

It runs so much nicer now though but boost bleh... I had such a hard on after watching that Top Gear episode last night, they bought their FD from USS Tokyo auctions same place I got my FD from so got excited and wen't for a drive but first turbo was bleh, hit the second turbo hard 3-4 times to 8k RPM to compensate :)

First picture is really amazing and it's really reflecting as dream car and also reflecting as it release fire when it's going to start and in my opinion you have done good job by sharing the second picture with narration because people will get information regarding engines. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64