You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BYD - the unknown electromobility giant

in #cars7 years ago

Hmm, I didn't know about BYD. Look-wise, these cars are very similar to "normal" cars. I am however not sure whether replacing all "normal" cars by electric cars is viable without increasing our electricity production. Probably not, so that we should think carefully :)

Sort:  

That's normal and good that, as always, also concerning this topic there are different point of views.

I personally am very optimistic that it won't be too problematic to make that change towards electromobility. (Actually I think it will be problematic if we don't change because of car induced pollution and exhausting resources of fossil fuels.)

One interesting idea is for example that electric cars could serve as mobile energy storage devices which could transfer electricity, if not needed, to other cars, to the home of the owner or also into the electric grid.

Apart from just using electric cars it will be necessary to produce much more solar electricity and wind energy and (that's most important) to have storages for the produced electricity in many private houses (steemit is the decentralized social network ... and in the same way we will need decentralized production of electricity and energy storage).

Maybe finally one personal experience: in our own house we have a photovoltaic system (with up to 8.19 kWp and solar cells towards three directions to be able to absorb light over a long period of time during the day) and an energy storage (with 6 kWh useful capacity; maybe to be extended in future) and I can confirm that in average over the year we have an autarky level of over 65 % (in spring, summer and autumn often over 90 %) - and technology will further improve and get cheaper ...

But right, lets see how future develops - of course I am no "clairvoyant", too, and maybe somewhat overenthusiastic. :)

We need to be enthusiastic, definitely, and we need to get rid of fossil fuels as quickly as possible.

This being said: Although I am strongly in favor of diversifying the types of energies we rely on ands develop the renewable branch as much as possible, I would like to get a deep comparison between all energies, a comparison that also accounts for the energy and ressources needed to build the powerplants (or devices) and to dismantle them. This is something I have never read anywhere. I think we may get surprises from there, which could also indicate where important problems that need to be solved are.

To be clear and emphasize: I am not saying green energies are bad. I am strongly in favor of them. What I say is that we may need to tune down a little bit our enthusiasm, which is different. More research is probably needed.

I think that research is always very useful and important, and I mean research in all directions.

However at the same time I really support companies like BYD which (apart from actually investing a lot into research) also throw real and reliable products on the market, because I think there is a reason that we say "learning by doing" and not "learning by theory (only)". Yes, I think we have to research, but we also have to act and test things in practice. :)

I forgot to answer on this:

I would like to get a deep comparison between all energies, a comparison that also accounts for the energy and ressources needed to build the powerplants (or devices) and to dismantle them.
Deal, I agree, that would be interesting, but ... then we should not only consider the costs to construct the power plants, but also the estimated future costs, caused for example by the storage or recycling of the produced waste and also caused by the removal of old unused power plants.

Totally in phase with you :)

And yes, you wrote "dismantle", too, which I didn't notice at first. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55