Sort:  

Thanks JW :)
If I get that far (without blowing up the engine) then I'll probably do a rolling acceleration comparison (maybe 3rd gear 40-70mph) instead of a standing start as those 205/40s don't hold the torque unless the ambient temp is at least 'mild' and the roads are super-dry. I'm planning on upgrading to 215/40/17s (like on the latest Fabia variant).

Cool, yeah no point doing a pull from zero, too many variables! What tyre brand do you like to use?

We got the car last March and it had Conti Sport Contact 3s all round. I swapped the fronts with the backs last Autumn to try to even out the wear. They're really grippy in good conditions, I surprised myself last year catching up to a Seat Leon going around a big motorway roundabout (M62 Rothwell junction), both of us on full throttle but I easily out-gripped him lol.

Other than that, I've no idea really. This is the first mildly sporty car I've ever had. I was a photocopier engineer for 20 years and always given average cars as company vehicles. Of all those, the most exciting one was a 2001 VW Golf Mk4 SE 130TDi that I was allowed to spec wheels up to 16" (WoW, a whole 16"??!! I hear you cry lol). That was only because I was upgraded to a senior eng. All came with factory designated tyres (leasing companies seem to like Michelin for some reason) that were usually replaced during each 3 year ownership with slightly above budget tyres.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52