Mazda RX7 versus VW Drag Beetle

in #cars7 years ago (edited)



click picture for video

This is my first time drag racing.
This was a test'n'tune before the main race. The Beetle is not even in my class, he's running sticky drag radials and my car is running road legal tyres. This was with the turbo boost turned down as low as it would go!
This was testing before the Swedish Street Championships in 2016 at Föne Airbase.

The commentator says "Ola is from Edsbyn and has been racing his beetle for a long time and knows his stuff.."


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Might be my old eye sight but I'm guessing you won?
Yeah?

;)

Haha yeah, this was only test n tune though. I’ll post some more where I lose... The Beetles mutant grandchild saw me off in the actual competition.

Ahh well, you can't win them all :)
Bigger turbo!........ and perhaps water/meth??? ;)

Actually the turbo is massive... its hardly spooling. I need bigger injectors, new fuel rails, even bigger fuel pump, probably a better clutch and some really sticky tyres :) Yeah the water/meth might help stop detonation at higher boost. This run was only 0.5 bar.

Ahh, so it's all the ancillaries holding you back at the moment then.
So what is it currently making HP wise?

I know a guy who makes a good custom water/meth setup :D

You do? Can you point me in his direction, having trouble finding info on it! 😆

Doesn't matter if you win by an inch or a mile...winning is winning :P

I don't know the spec on this Beetle, but it looked pretty good in the pits and he's been racing it for a while. Plus he's running in the big boys class, I was just in the street class.

A classic dub performing at its best.

It was pretty fast too, think it ran the quarter in just over 14 seconds. Must be a considerable improvement over the standard car!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56