1995 RX7 FD Big single turbo. My car.

in #cars7 years ago

XUS_RX7-6798.jpg

I have always had a thing for RX7's right from the first generation and have even owned a few of those early 80's models too. But 2 years ago I took the plunge into the abyss of rotary ownership and bought this car. It's a 1995 Mazda RX7 FD3s.

Originally a JDM import it was shipped from Japan about 10 years ago. I picked it at Christmas time exactly 2 years ago, it was a real gamble because I couldn't road test it and had to trailer it home (12 hours drive there and back) due to the snowy weather! However the price was so low I couldn't resist... I mean how bad could it be... a blown turbo? Low compression? Some other Rotary engine nightmare?

So more of that in another post I think :)

XUS_RX7-6781.jpg

Sort:  

"I mean how bad could it be... a blown turbo? Low compression? Some other Rotary engine nightmare?"

I feel like you are setting up for another post about these :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jasonwhite to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love RX7s, such a good looking car. And you've single turbo'd it? What size turbo are you running? What made you go for a single turbo over the twins?

It came with the turbo fitted, the original twins had given up. Gonna write up some more about the car soon.

Ah right okay, poor twins! As much as the big single makes sense and more power, I do love the idea of a nice set of twins. Looking forward to reading some more about this!

Great post! FD are awesome cars. They do have the reliability issues but it would be nice to see more of this! Followed

No, no, no! Not unreliable! Sorry couldn't resist, everybody says that. Its not a reliability problem, its longevity, they simply wear out faster! I'll write a post about this actually :)

What an awesome ride, great shots! Thanks for sharing, had to resteem :) #keepsteemin

Thanks, have lots more pics to post... :) Maybe some very loud video also ;)

Looking forward to it :) I still have to make a revied of my TDI aswell hehe

Dat booty doe <3

Haha you bet ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65