The car repair saga continues...

in #cars7 years ago

20170724_130355.jpg

I think something's wrong here...

Fix: Flexible exhaust pipe from NAPA with an inside diameter matching the outside diameter of the original pipe, a little sandpaper work to clean up the surface, some bolt-on clamps, and a twisted wire coat hanger for support to jury-rig this until I have time to continue the engine swap project.

Elbow grease and mild profanity are necessary to make everything fit, and I had the foresight to wear leather gloves to avoid slicing my hands on sharp metal. It is late and I have no pictures at the moment of the finished kludged-together repair. It ain't pretty, so maybe you're better off. But the exhaust sounds civilized now, so there's that.

Yes, I used proper jack stands. I may be dumb, but I ain't stoopid.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

That needs more duck tape!

I used that on the cracked plastic bumper cover. Alas, duct tape doesn't like the temperatures an exhaust pipe reaches.

:DD

Did you look for a replacement at a junkyard? You could probably get the whole exhaust for the price of the flex pipe and clamps if you get lucky enough...

I am working toward swapping the engine from that car into another Neon that has a clean body and good transmission. I have a perfectly good exhaust system there, so why bother to make a more permanent fix? I can then salvage the flex pipe and clamps from here to keep on hand for future needs.

MacGyver's got nuthin' on you! Lol!

Good job!

Pretty sure you'r exhaust bearings went out.
All jokes aside good luck with the repairs.

Aw, man! And I just topped off the elbow grease when I flushed the blinker fluid. I know because this was right before I went to town to buy the board stretcher! Dammit!

USING JACK STANDS IS UNACCEPTABLE! ALL VEHICLE WEIGHT MUST BE SUPPORTED BY ONE (1) FLOOR JACK ONLY!

Just kidding. XD Can't say I haven't done that myself, though. Glad to hear you rigged up a fix. Mickey Mouse is the amateur mechanic's best friend.

A HARBOR FREIGHT FLOOR JACK!

I'm upvoting this comment because Harbor Freight is where you go for really good tools. I know it. You know it. Everyone knows it.

DUCKTAPE IS TEMPORARY LOOOOOL! Heard of fiberfix?

Heard of it. This car is not intended to last long enough for that to be worth the bother.

ohh, its cheaper and faster than flexible exhaust pipe.. It would have took you maybe 8$ and 10 minutes.. Im guessing what you did was slightly more expensive and time consuming lol! But its done now so ohhhh well! Hope it serves it purpose!

Looks like fun ! ( not)

Are we going to get some follow up photos of your handy work?

Is there anything a flexpipe can't fix? Also the coat hanger is noobish, zap straps is where it's at.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65811.45
ETH 2675.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88