An Engine Extraction

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

Progress has been made since my embarrasingly-too-long-ago-post on pulling the axles. I have had health issues, work issues, and the delays of figuring out what the heck I am doing as I go along, but the engine is now out!

20170902_163032.jpg

I couldn't decide how to attach my fancy load leveler, so I finally just wrapped a chain around the engine mount bracket on one side, and under the transmission on the other.

This is after I pulled it part-way, and discovered I needed to remove the front engine mount bracket in order to properly maneuver the engine in the tight confines of the engine bay, so it had to get partly re-installed so I could break the bolts free and pull off that last part. They were so snug, I had to lie under the car and brace my feet against the subframe to get a grip and loosen the bolts. OSHA would not approve, but it was safe enough.

20170902_163800.jpg

Now that it's out, I'll need to figure out how to pull off the good transmission while supporting all the weight properly, and then repeat the engine pull process on the other car. I'll then put this transmission on the other car's engine, and reinstall everything in the blue car. It all sounds so easy when I type it in a single sentence there...

But I have learned a lot in this stage of the project. It's mostly doable now in my mind. I just need to get a new clutch kit since I'll have it that far apart already anyway, and I will need to check both cars to see whether I need to buy new engine mounts or wiring harness parts.

I was a bit careless about identifying parts as I pulled this apart, but only because it was already halfway torn apart by the previous owner. I will need to be more careful as I take apart the other car, and I will cross-reference my pile of parts to see what I can then mark for the dead engine. Perhaps there will be a rebuild, but don't count on it.


SteemVerify

If you like this post, please comment, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

You're in the thick of it now. That's sweet.
Removing engines always makes me smile and reminisce about all the hours spent with greasy bloody hands cursing and sweating.
Though, I don't do things like that often enough to be any good at it, so maybe that explains the greasy blood and sweaty cursing.

This is my first attempt at a car repair beyond the level of valve cover gasket replacement, so I feel like I'm in WAY over my head.

I still remember that feeling the first time I did the same. My car was on my left and my engine on my right... What have I done?! You'll get through it!

Good luck...

Modern cars are evil beasts, in the same vein as human governments... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

It's a '95. Not exactly "new." Only one computer! And it's barely OBD-II compliant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49