You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: America Is a Great Place to Drive: These 3 Things Would Make It Better

in #cars7 years ago

Love your ideas man! One that I would add as #1 to the list.....NO speed limits! I know I catch a lot of flack from statists on this one, "everyone will drive 100MPH and kill people". Not true. If people used the left lane as a passing lane only, we wouldn't have any issues with speed. Most people drive as fast as they are comfortable. See the autobahn's crash statistics for a reference on how speed doesn't kill. The sudden deceleration does ;)

Sort:  

Yes! I'd love to have the German autobahn system as well. I've spent quite a few hours on the autobahn network (at least for someone who doesn't live in Germany) and I think it's great. I think to import the speeds to the US we'd also have to import the:

  • German driving mindset (like you said, strict lane discipline)
  • Smooth, almost perfect roads
  • More uniformly well-maintained cars

I'm sure all these things are possible whether on a state road system or a private, free market road system but somehow I just don't see them showing up in America anytime soon under either system. I guess we'll just have to make regular pilgrimages to Germany to enjoy the experience.

As a side note: if Denmark would eliminate it's 130 kmh max speed limit it could be even better than driving in Germany because the level of traffic is so low (at least in the areas I have experience with near Aalborg, Aarhus etc).

I think the free market would provide bullet points 2 & 3. I can't under any certainty say that for a state run system. But #1, imo, would sort itself out rather quickly once the 'rules of the road' had been implemented. When people are not afraid of silly statutes dictating their speed, they will drive as fast as they feel comfortable. It will be commonplace to know that if you're in the left lane and not passing someone, you get honked at and ridiculed. It would be so commonplace that after getting honked at, the person moves over to the right lane and actually feels like an asshole for making someone behind them brake in the left lane.

Typed that out really fast and realized how much optimism I have for mankind. Please let it be true!!

Hear hear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55