Lincoln Town Car

in #cars7 years ago

Here are some exterior photos of my 1996 Lincoln Town Car Executive.. I bought this car from a guy that lived, below Montgomery, AL in 2010.. I'm can't recall the exact mileage that the car had, but it was around 96,000 miles. It now has 188,500 on it, so that goes to show that I really haven't driven it that much(in 8 years)..

20180129_170325.jpg

Image Source

I haven't had that many problems out of it. The first summer I had it, the right rear suspension air bag went out. Replaced it, I think it was around $150(parts and labor). The next summer the left rear went out, so I did a little research, because I did not want to keep forking out money(know what I mean?)....

Image Source

I found out that, I could just bypass all the air suspension stuff and go with a rear coil spring conversion kit.. So that's what I did, and it's been riding great ever since.. BAM!!! problem solved..

20180129_161247.jpg

20180129_170355.jpg

Image Source

So a few years go by and I blow the intake manifold, reving it up trying to blow sutt out(shame on me thinking it was a hotrod).. Ha, as I was sitting in my car(with it in park), I saw smoke coming out from under the hood. Investigated for a while, and I finally saw a crack in the manifold,, poor me couldn't catch a break.. LOL.. Replace it with a new one,(new on left and old on right).. Learned my lesson.. So from then on, I started babying my ride...

20180129_160844.jpg

Guess I could have cleaned my headlights first(made them more clear).. Ha, didn't think about it at the time..

20180129_160729.jpg

So fresh and so clean, clean... Well the outside anyway... I'll have to clean the inside and show ya'll some photos of it.. I'll keep ya updated on that...

20180129_160808.jpg

Now this does have dual exhaust, with a 4.6L V-8 that produces 275lb- ft. of torque and 210hp.. It has some nice get up and go when I need it, but I try not to get on it, to often..

Oh,, I almost forgot to mention that, I have had both my lower ball joints on the front suspension to go out as well. Back to back years.. Now, if you start to hear squeeking under the hood when you go over a dip in the road, going over railroad tracks, or even when you turn, your ball joints are about to go out(I had about 2 weeks to spare).. In my case, it was the lower ball joints and not the upper...

Image Source

One morning, I was leaving Wal-Mart and in the left turning lane, I went to turn onto Hwy.31 and my car felt like it had bottomed out.. I was like, DAAANG... So I crepted across the road real slow cause I didn't know what kind of damage it had done. All I know is when I got out, I looked across the road and there was a scrape all the way across it((haha, made my mark in history)).. Heck, the damage to the car was very minimum(thankfully), so a tow truck was called to take it to a mechanic shop to get fixed.

20180129_160553.jpg

Maybe this might help someone in the same situation.. Hopefully no one is...

Well I hope everyone enjoy these photos and the life of this car since I have owned it..

Thanks for viewing

Sort:  

A very clean ride to be honest,wouldn't mind my self getting one also.

Thanks a lot, I try to keep it clean but sometimes I slip.. LOL.. Yeah those years in the 90s, they are not that much.. I got mine in 2010 and I paid 4 G's for it.. Shouldn't be that price now, though.. Unless it has about 40,000 miles on it.. Very reliable car and the interior is pretty durable as well..

A 4.6L V8 is pretty good tho

Yeah it has a little bit of fire behind it.. If I'm not mistaking, I think some of the mustangs had those engines as well.. Along with the 5.0(in the mustangs, not the town cars).. LOL

i was wondering why i saw that year and model on the freeway few weeks back slammed from the back... bags where out or was done on purpose who knows LOL but you have that gem nice and clean

Thanks. I try to wash it bout every 2 weeks or so... Ah, you had me for a second.. I'm just glad it wasn't mine that you saw...

I wish I could afford a car like that, classics are goal af, and yours are very clean!

Hey wasssup?? Thanks.. Well nowadays, this car really isn't all that much.. LOL.. Wish I could get a few more, but 1 is all I need right now:-) ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49