The angry letter I sent Ford about the issues with my FocussteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars7 years ago

I felt inspired last night after implicating the Ford Focus into Kim Jung Un's plans to destabilise the a-pac region. I wrote them a very long post to their facebook page. Because its a Sunday, I don't expect a response. I am planning on printing and physically mailing this to their head office in Australia.

Dear Ford Australia, Please find below a lovely photograph of the most favourite car that I’ve ever owned. On February 13 2014, I exchanged a sum of money in exchange for an assurance that I would own the Ford Focus Trend 2013, Panther Black, in Manual. Several days later, the deed was done, and my Valentine (you’ll note the 13th of February was Valentine’s day in 2014) came home with me for a nice romp.

She was gorgeous, inside and out, and I could speak to her too, thanks to the lovely Microsoft Sync system, which is why I chose to start a relationship with a Ford Focus over a Mazda 3 or a Golf. Except, I couldn’t. She’d bemoan the fact that ‘Speech Support not available on this device’ and inform me that the assorted devices that I attempted to impregnate her with (a variety of ipods, USB sticks, smartphones and such) were not inserted correctly. They were.

In fact, the dealership informed me that it was my devices causing problems with Miss Sync, and it took several visits and me frustratingly attempting to explain the fact that under Australian Consumer Law, I would not have purchased the vehicle if I had known that the dealership would have needed to see my lover for three separate encounters only to finally have her perform after having her computer replaced. A major failure, a major selling point, and one of the most heavily marketed features of the vehicle.

Some time passed, we went to a outback getaway along the Murray River and it was tranquil, quiet and romantic. I even had a lovely lass from Ford Customer Relations call me while I was on a ferry crossing the mighty, roaring river (actually, it was the middle of summer, and it may have well been a puddle) I informed her that yes, everything was fine, everything was good, and I was enjoying a romantic moment on a river cruise with m’lady Focus and expressed my disappointment that the only remedy I received from the Ford Motor Company was a forced apology and several hours of lost time.

I returned home to find some mail in my letter box. It was regarding my Ford Focus, and the minor matter that it required to be taken back to Ford because of an issue with the driveshafts, potentially causing them to fail to deliver power to the vehicle, rendering it immobile in some circumstances. Again, another major failure I would not have purchased the vehicle if I had known that this had existed prior.

Another day wasted at the dealership while the work was performed. The audio system, at least, still played music. It was good.

Then one day, me and my mates had a barbecue planned. I required a gas bottle so in Australian fashion, donned my worst possible pair of shoes that was falling apart (I shoulda worn thongs) and went to Australian institute of culture, otherwise known as Bunnings. With the smell of freshly cooked snags in the air, and the summer sun shining, I emerged from my vehicle. I looked at the ground by chance, and saw some rubber. I thought, “Jeez, did that come off my fine pair of shoes?” No, it did not… it was my brake pedal. It had cracked, and come off the metal pedal, after a mere 13,173 KM.

Lovely. I purchased my gas bottle, and carefully drove back home to make further preparations for the barbecue. I also made another complaint about the manufacturing quality and poor attention to detail given to my Focus. This too, was repaired, but my list of issues was growing. The customer service again, could give nothing but an apology. I was not an advocate of the Ford Motor Company.

I’m lucky enough to know and appreciate the fact that a manual is so much fun to drive, and was not impacted by the PowerShift transmission issues which have been well published in the media. I hope you go well with that Class Action, dear Ford Motor Company.

It was only a matter of time before things started to come apart at the seams due to my gargantuan form apparently causing the upper seat cover, on the driver’s seat, near my right shoulder blade (made of razors, as per biological requirements) tore apart, threatening to fill the vehicle’s cabin with cheap upholstery foam. This occurred at less than 14,000 kilometres.

This too, was repaired under warranty, but again, got added to the list of issues that I called “I wouldn’t have purchased this item if I was aware of these defects,” which in Australian Consumer Law terms, constitutes a major failure .The remedies I was given were not those that I had attempted to exercise under the Australian Consumer law. I even reasonably requested an extension of my warranty period at no cost, which was outright refused.

And now, we hear of the latest issues regarding the fuel tanks and carbon filters potentially causing the latest threats to stability in the Asia-Pacific region. 40,000 Thailand produced Ford Foci could become incendiary fuel air bombs employed by the region’s friendly North Korean regime to terrorise suburban streets throughout Australia and other segments of the world. Truly Machiavellian, Kim Jung Un.

I do have another year and a half on my ‘dealership purchased warranty’, and the finance on my vehicle has long since been paid off. I haven’t missed a single servicing interval, and I have taken impeccable care of my beloved vehicle. Now, I am terrified of pressing that fun button (the accelerator) for fear of a fiery demise. I would like to please request from Ford my rights as a consumer in Australia to be fairly compensated for the above numerous and major failures to my vehicle.

I have contacted my dealership regarding the safety check for the fuel fire hazard thingy that has been reported in the last few days, and know that this will be handled with care and affection by the technicians responsible for repair.

However, I would like to know what remedy or offer the Ford Motor Company of Australia would be prepared to make to me, a frustrated and disenchanted customer who has experienced major, major failures and wants only a genuine attempt at customer relations, and probably, some sort of monetary recompense.

Thank you for reading my story.

Much Love and we’ll see you in the media again when someone dies because of some other un-recalled defect to the Ford Foci released in 2011-2014.

Steven.

Now I await for the inevitable deletion from their Social Media team:

Sort:  

far out sounds like you living with "her" at the ford dealership..lol

Congratulations @holoz0r! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Loved reading this mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84