You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hopes and Dreams - Fiat Chrysler and PSA to merge.

in #cars4 years ago

Sorry I was long to answer to your post (very interesting by the way and you deserve all the upvotes).

I'm afraid that this merger is only economies of scale, develop a common chassis for all to reduce costs. I hope that the teams of designers will have the audacity to propose something new from the history of all these brands (Citroën with the old DS, Lancia...).

Sort:  

No need for apologies @heroldius, though I'm glad to hear your thoughts on this :-)

Realistically, I do share your opinions on this; in that this merger is only for business sake. Making new EV platforms, autonomous tech, etc. is becoming more expensive nowadays, and they'll need to share costs.

Though I do admit there could be potential to improve their cars overall with parts sharing - look at what Hyundai/Kia, and Renault/Nissan can do (let's hope this won't be a repeat of the Daimler-Chrysler era again).

I sure hope they'll have the audacity to make some bold new moves to bring back their legacy (in fact, on your last point - I will be writing some posts on that soon).

I mean, Renault had the courage to bring back the Alpine A110, and that took the automotive world by storm.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86