My 2002 Saturn Car

in #cars7 years ago

2002_saturn_sl_sl1_auto_4550055421803675175.jpg

I own a 2002 Saturn. It is maroon. It is also a sad car. Los Angeles is full of nice, happy cars. Mine is not nice, and it's not happy. I own a sad car.

It is maroon, which is a color most other automakers deliberately forgot about.

It has no Bluetooth mechanism. So, to speak on my phone while driving, I must turn on the speakerphone and hope for the best.

It smells musty, too.

I ask myself: does owning and driving a sad car make me sad? The answer is: yes. It does make me a sad person. Does it make me less worthwhile as a person? That is up for debate.

Sometimes to make myself happy, I drive my Saturn to the gas station and I hop out in front of the pump, and I go into the little hut to pay for a snack. When I come back outside, I say to the Lexus or BMW driver nearby, 'Wow, see that Saturn abandoned in front of pump #7? Which sad little idiot owns that car?' More often than not she or he does not answer. Maybe laughs or gives me an alarmed face. Then I say, 'Well, it's not me!'

Then I walk off, raising my snack, to explain why I'm at the gas station, and I go hide behind a bush. When the Lexus or BMW driver is done gassing up, and has left the gas station, I come back to my sad sad car. I go up to it and take in its ultimate sadness. It knows it's been shamed. I feel bad. But I also feel sad. So, to recap: bad and sad.

Today I got some happy news about a project I was waiting to hear about. Then I got in my car, and being in my car dampened all the happiness I felt, and soon I got very sad. My Saturn read my mind. It sputtered and coughed, and we both felt like we wept on the street in front of my apartment.

Get yourself a happy car.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hansholsen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I hope you can soon get a happy car which will cheer you up :)

Congratulations @hansholsen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello @hansholsen, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
3458 8653 3091 8190
8106 3407 4434 8967
2709 9479 4032 5416
5734 4761 9808 1647

Congratulations @hansholsen! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hansholsen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45