Frank - The World Time Attack Nissan S13

in #cars6 years ago

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine and fellow petrolhead invited me to his house in the suburbs to take some photos of his nearly complete racecar, which he plans to use in the World Time Attack Championships in Australia this year. This car started life as a regular Nissan S13 (200SX), with a standard CA18DET engine. Not exactly much on the performance front...but all that changed very quickly.

IMG_9406_sml.jpg

Currently, the car has a SR20 engine in it from a Nissan S15, with a huge turbocharger bolted on, making in the region of 500hp. And with the entire body and aerodynamic bits being carbon fibre, you can be assured this car isn't slow. Needless to say, this car isn't anywhere near road legal. Ironically, it still has a licence disc on it - I suggested to the owner he should drive it to a Nissan dealership one day for fun and ask for a regular service (you can see the licence disc in the photo below on the top right of the windscreen).

IMG_9396_sml.jpg

Eventually, after so many modifications from various different cars, the car earned the nickname of "Frankenstein" - or Frank for short (hence the name in the title). Also, a few people have asked him about the "crazy" decals he has plastered all over the bodywork. The reason for this is - the cars aerodynamics are still in prototype phase, and the decals act as a sort of camouflage. And, what blows my mind is that each one of those decals was individually cut out and stuck on - imagine how long that had to take!

IMG_9325_sml.jpg

The owner has quite an interesting collection of cars, with about 6 in total now around his property (my favourite being the grey R35 GTR you can see lurking in the enormous custom-built garage below, parked next to a stock standard Nissan 200SX. He also has a BMW E60 M5 parked elsewhere, and a few others - tough life).

IMG_9336_sml.jpg

Shooting this car was quite an adventure due to the incredibly limited space, but I made the best of what I could. The night time photos certainly worked the best in my opinion, whereby I used a 20 second exposure and my handy light wand to "light paint" the car. These photos already caused quite a stir on Facebook when they were posted on the aerodynamic manufacturers page (attracting over 500 comments and about 1,000 shares), with a very divided opinion between love and hate. But hey, it's built to be a race car...not a work of art.

IMG_9400_sml.jpg

I figured some of these photos would be useful for the #vehiclephotography contest hosted by @photocontests, so enjoy them, and let me know what you think. Obviously, all photos are my own original work.

Equipment used:

Canon 6D
24-105 f4 L Series Canon lens
Generic Manfrotto tripod
Yongnuo YN360 light wand (used for light painting)
Lightroom CC for edits

IMG_9404_sml.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @garethb Nelson sent me :) Nice photos, that car is awesome, love time attack cars ;)
I can't upvote you yet, my steem power is all pooped out :(

Hey man, thanks for stopping by. I have hundreds of more car photography images to upload soon, so hopefully there will be a few there that you like.

Dude! You should have texted me when you joined so I could boost your posts!

Haha. I joined like an hour after we spoke about it I think. Regardless, I'm here now :)

Hah okay cool, I've just spent all of my SBD on some powerups will get another payout in the morning and send you an upgoat as a welcoming present. Join our discord https://discord.gg/PhqmBdD

Sweet. I finally have my fibre at the new home sorted out, so will have time to make plenty more content - and play Xbox Live.

I haven't switched my Xbox on since mid December, so busy with life and on the grind to bring in an NSX this year!

nice ride u have there

R35 is still the quickest ;)

Nice photos I like the night one the most. the decals makes it look awesome. It would be awesome to see a video of it racing when he dose use it

Thanks, he hasn't taken it out too much lately (bought yet another race car). But I'll try strap my GoPro onto this one when it goes out again :)

Yes that would be nice to see

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @garethb to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66