Ferrari Fridays - An Impromptu Carspotting Diary

in #cars6 years ago

TGIF. Trust me, it's not often you'll hear me saying that, but I am incredibly glad this week is complete. I've been rushing to do two weeks worth of work in one week (I'll reveal why in a few days time, but it's pretty exciting), hence why my Steemit account has been as active as a tumbleweed rolling across the desert. Anyway, we'll be back to regular programming soon hopefully.

In the meantime, today saw an unexpected large amount of supercar spotting encounters around my city, so I thought I'd share a few photos with everyone here. I took most of them, with a couple of extra ones sent in by my friends.

DSC_0314.jpg

The morning started off pretty well. I was standing on the balcony outside my office and heard the scream of a V10 coming down the road. Naturally, I turned to see what car the sound belonged to, and was greeted with the sight of a brand new Lamborghini Huracan Performante.

Sadly, I didn't have my phone on me, but not to worry - I'm on so many different car Whatsapp groups that someone else was guaranteed to spot it. Lo and behold, about 20 minutes later, a picture of the Lambo popped up on my screen. This is a good way to start the day.

IMG-20180525-WA0009.jpg
It was also spotted later again in the afternoon. A rare car like this certainly causes quite a stir.

I left my office just after midday to pay a visit to a showroom / dealership that myself and @nelkeljdm stumbled upon during a photoshoot last week (you can read about it here and here). I got chatting to the owner, who informed me the business was actually a detailing operation, and he kept his cars there as means of a display. He also has 10 Honda S2000's - must be a bit of a Honda fan?

Sitting in his showroom was a light blue Ferrari California (that I didn't take any photos of), but he said I can head downstairs to see another Ferrari.

DSC_0310.jpg

And what a treat was downstairs! This wasn't even the Ferrari I went to see, but it was waiting in line at his car wash. This particular model is a 575 Superamerica, with one of the strangest folding roofs I've ever seen (it folds 180 degrees directly over). Apparently there are only 5 of these in the country, and if you have to ask the price - you can't afford it.

Needless to say, I can't afford it.

DSC_0311.jpg

In front of the 575 Superamerica was a Subaru Impreza WRX belonging to a buddy of mine who had stopped off for a quick wash. He kindly informed me that the other Ferrari was already inside at the drying station, and it was certainly worth a look. So, off we go.

DSC_0316.jpg
Remember I said the owner loves the S2000? There's another one in the back.

This was now the third unplanned Ferrari I was "spotting" in the space of one hour, which was quite a remarkable feat. Pictured here is a much newer Ferrari 488, which was in the final stages of a standard auto valet wash.

DSC_0312.jpg
I even managed to get a quick glimpse inside. Would love to be able to take one of these for a drive someday.

By now, I'd passed enough time on my afternoon off, and decided to head home before going for a gym session. On the way out, I had a quick look at this old Formula 1 car (at least I think it's a Formula 1 car). I didn't get to ask what the point of having something like this was, but that question can wait until next time. And yeah, look at that right next to it - another S2000.

DSC_0317.jpg
This couldn't have been a cheap purchase.

DSC_0309.jpg

Not even a few minutes later, I had just left and was on my way home - literally on the same road as the dealership / detailing place - and this Mclaren MP4-12C came past me at speed. Fortunately, I saw the car approaching fast in my rearview mirror, so I managed to pull my phone out in time for a quick snap. The stop sign didn't do much good.

IMG-20180525-WA0004.jpg
Meanwhile, across town, my friend sent me this dodgy photo showing a snippet of a limited edition Lamborghini Aventador Roadster. It apparently has Texas numberplates, yet we're in South Africa. Strange.

Later in the afternoon, I was stuck in an unforeseen traffic jam on the way back from gym. Other than spotting another silver Mclaren in the distance, I was also greeted with the sight of this amazing Porsche GT3. All it took was one photo to a few of my Whatsapp groups, and the owner surfaced. It really is such a small world hey?

DSC_0319.jpg

IMG-20180525-WA0016.jpg
He was also kind enough to share some photos of his car, showing the extra decals he has on it. Looks good.

The final cherry on the cake came only a few minutes after seeing the GT3. Would you believe it? The same black Lamborghini from the morning came roaring down the street past me - just outside my house.

It was certainly a good day for some impromptu carspotting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @garethb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91