Finally, A Corvette That Looks Good

in #cars7 years ago

Corvette_C7_Stingray_2014-01.jpg

And what Corvette would that be? The C7, of course.

I have been waiting for decades for a decent looking Corvette to hit the roads. And now, it's finally here.

Now I'm not talking about performance or price or anything else other than its look.

I have been a Corvette fan since I can remember. As a little kid I was thrilled when Chevy came out with the C3. I heard quite a few comments from Corvette lovers, even up to my teens, how they despised the look of the C3. I mean coming off the gorgeous C2 I can understand what they mean. The C2 is my favorite as well. But I liked the C3 when it came out. It had the slim chrome bumpers which I love. Many cars had the slim bumpers in those days and I think they make the car look real sharp. It had more curves too! I think they nailed it with the rear as well. It's very sexy.

When I was sixteen I was hanging out at a body shop and wandered around to the side of the building. There sat a 1968 Corvette convertible. It was forest green. I walked around it , soaking it in. I came out of my euphoria and went inside to get the story on this car as it was sitting in the grass and seemed to have been there a while. "What's up with that 'Vette out side?" I asked. "It's for sale he said. It has a fresh paint job underneath and a rebuilt 327." The obvious question came up. "How much you want for it?" I asked. "Two thousand," he replied. At this point my mind was racing trying to figure how I could get two grand. It was 1980 so two grand was a lot. Especially for a sixteen year old kid like me. "Can I go check it out?" I asked. "Sure go on ahead," he said.

I remember I looked under the hood, then I went to the side and opened the door and slid in. Black interior, four speed convertible. My mind still racing. I don't know how long I sat there but it was a little while. I went home trying to figure a way to get the money. Long story short - I never did. I believe everyone has a story about the one that got away. This is mine.

C2.jpg
What wet dreams are made of.

C3.jpg
Very sexy.

All was going well in my world - then tragedy struck.

I remember the day I saw the rubber bumper on the '73. I was rather upset. Why would they do such a thing? It looks stupid! Not being old enough to know about or understand government regulations and Chevy's struggle to comply with them, I still wouldn't have cared if I knew. "They ruined the Corvette!" is what I thought (and still do, really).

I own a '75 complete with the stupid rubber bumpers... for now. I'm in the process of converting to chrome. I hate the rubber (urethane) that much. Then they introduced the "bubble" window on the '78-'82' Vette. But the C3 was still was presentable.

The C4 was a huge disappointment for me. Yes, the performance was way better than previous 'Vettes. But the look was - well, like someone put a business suit on it! It was the most lack-luster design I'd ever seen! To this day I still think it looks like a Mazda RX7 (1983-85). I mean, this is a Corvette, not a sedan! Oh, well. The glory days are over.

c4.jpg
The Mazda RX7 (1985)

mazdasilver.jpgThe C4 Corvette (1984)

Then we come to the C5. There was an improvement. They actually added some curves to the damn thing but it still missed the mark. Especially that ugly ass end. The Corvette has had an ugly rear for decades. I mean it looks like an after-thought or something. There was a huge amount of real estate there they did nothing with.

C5.jpgMeh

The C6 they actually started to get it right - not quite right though. The lines were a little off. The front still looked soft - not aggressive at all. The sides had a bit more styling but, as with the front, not very aggressive. Then there's her ass. Ugh.

c6.jpgDon't the headlights look like they're crosseyed?

Enter the C7. When I first saw this car I actually did a double-take. I saw it was a 'Vette but thought it was just another C6. But the lines jumped out at me. This thing was sharp looking! I mean damn, this looks good! It's like Chevy went out and hired an artist instead of a team of engineers and bean counters to design the thing. What were they thinking?! I can no longer look at the Corvette, sigh and say, "Well, maybe one day." I am truly impressed with the new design and I actually want to look at it and walk around it and say, "Wow, that's nice."

2017-chevrolet-corvette-grand-sport-44.jpgTo me this is aggressive.

2017-chevrolet-corvette-grand-sport-15.jpgThey did some landscaping on all that real estate!

2017-chevrolet-corvette-grand-sport-14.jpgSharper lines. Not like a marshmallow.

2017-chevrolet-corvette-grand-sport-41.jpgFinally, a Corvette that looks good.


If you enjoyed this post please UpVote, Resteem and Follow me @forty-two

upvoteretseemfollow.gif


art source: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sort:  

And it's so goddamn sexy... there's been so many new cars released that are just jaw-dropping! My favorite one is the Lexus LF-LC. I remember the concept car back at the 2012 Chicago Auto Show. And now with the new Bentley SUV's and Lambos and crazy Range Rovers... ah, the times are changin' and it's good to be alive :)

It is a good time to be alive. You know, when humans started designing cars again, not computers!

That top Corvette is fire ;)

Yeah it is! Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58182.09
ETH 2307.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48