Darkside Developments - Straight-thru Stainless Exhaust - More Power for the Eggmobile - EggTV

in #cars5 years ago (edited)

Hello All,

Yet again it's been a while since I last put fingers-to-keyboard in regards to steemit activity. Any hoo, I'm hoping to do a collection of posts very soon regarding ALL the modifications I've made to the Eggmobile (big or small).

There could be some exciting new Water/Meth stuff very soon to!!!

I will no doubt be touching on this particular upgrade in the future but for now I will 'spill the beans' on the latest mod.

Robert_Shaw_-_Exhaust__4_.JPG


A couple of months ago, I decided to go for a new exhaust as the rear muffler was rusting through. Pondering for a while, I decided I could kill two birds with one stone. Make the car road-worthy again PLUS add some power!!! I had been aware for a while of 'Darkside Developments' custom exhaust options and as they're only a few miles from my mums, I was very tempted. They literally build a whole system on the car in aircraft grade stainless steel in a few hours. I chose to go for larger diameter tubing (2.5" over the stock 2") and also to negate the rear muffler. The quality of the workmanship is amazing and the increase in throttle response and acceleration is quite noticeable to. Even though I decided against the rear muffler in favour of extra performance, 95% of the time you don't notice an increase in exhaust noise. Every now and then when the stars are in alignment [tee hee], and the atmospheric conditions are conducive does there become a noticeable deep drone. Usually it will only last about 5-10 minutes as the exhaust goes through a certain temperature phase I guess. Notifying the insurance company only increased the premium by a few quid and so I am very pleased indeed :) Darkside did a Facebook post and I've also done a video myself (see below). In the video I also detail all the current mods and the estimated performance figures.

Here are Darkside's official photos of the new zorst fitted to my Eggmobile :)

and a couple of mine.

20181010_142550.jpg

20181010_142605.jpg

20181011_161104.jpg

Here's my video where you'll notice that's it's not particularly any louder than a stock exhaust. You can skip to around 1m 16s if you want to bypass my boring voice :)


Thanks for stopping by and please follow for those modification posts I was referring to at the beginning.

Cheers,

Eggmeister.

footer2.png

Sort:  

Great to see you back and the fabia is still going strong, got a few friends with seat tdi's that have had work done with darkside and super happy. And movement on the diy injection system you were working on?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Dan, great to hear from you. Output from the ol' Meister has been lacking of late.

Yeah, still loving the Fabia :) Motorway overtaking is super quick now since zorst install LOL.

As for the meth injection....... I'm waiting to see the new products from Banks Power in USA, they are supposedly bringing out new meth kits at end of this year. If price is good and it's suitable then I might go that route.......... if not, then I'll probably be re-installing version 'B' of my SH2OMI system. I'll be needing the additional fuelling from meth to supplement (funds allowing) a Nitrous system at some point next year. Darkside have tuned a Golf with the same 1.6tdi to 250hp so it seems the internals are pretty strong. I'll be happy with +/- 200hp from my Stage #1 + meth/nitrous set up :)

How's things with you?

Robster.

Wow bet thatll be good fun, a friend has a 200bhp+ leon tdi and its scary, the torque is unreal and i bet they weight a fair bit more than a fabia.

I'm not bad had a spell away from steem for a couple of months was unfortunately made redundant so had a rough ride, back in work now just trying get that work life balance back.

Dan

Hi Dan, glad to hear you've got money coming back in and a bit of financial security :)

If the Leon is like the Golf then probs 200kg heavier than the Fabia. A freind has a 2009 Leon FR Tdi remapped to around the 200hp mark........ he's a happy chappy LOL.

Robster.

Congratulations @eggmeister! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27