Why I love driving?

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

What do you do after a long day, or when you are stuck in a rut with whatever you're doing. Where do you go when you need to chill and relax for a while before going back into the daily grind, what if you need to get away for a bit and wait for some inspiration to strike you.

Some go to sleep, some eat, some go for a cigarette break, some even take a day off and go somewhere else. I even know someone who would go and sit in a toilet.

Me...I go and have a drive in my car by myself.


The reason is simple, when I am by myself rolling along a relatively empty road (This being the key, nobody likes to be stuck in a jam), there is nothing else but me, my car and the road. All my troubles and concern flies by like the scenery and I am absolutely focused on the driving and the sensation of being in control of a 1.2 tonne piece of metallic machinery. I don't have to be speeding or tackling exciting corners (although those are definitely a fun part of driving for me), Heck I don't even have to be driving a particularly fast car. All I need is a car that communicates back to me, like an extension of my body.

My love of driving also lead me to my love of driving in the twisty backroads also known to most enthusiasts as Tōge.  Tōge is when I get to explore the limits of my car and my driving, but always within the safe boundaries as driving on  public roads. I love the backroads because there are very few motorized traffic, a nice scenery and most importantly - A lot of bends and corners.

This rather expensive hobby of mine also introduced me to many of the personal friends that I know today, some of whom are also on steemit because of this common interest, such as @jayjml @jun04035 @choku @azlan96 @williedawonka @aaronleang @kllam15 @davidke20 @denion and @r3aperz etc. etc. 

Sometimes we would go on drives together, learning from each other and sharing tips about driving and stuffs about cars. On some of those drives we would find some out-of-the-way places to eat, take pictures or just chill out. Of course I am still driving alone in the car, but with the added bonus of being surrounded by friendly cars who would look out for each other.

Sure, none of us drive particularly powerful cars, but the point is to have fun and enjoy each other's company, which more often than not is better than driving alone.

Indeed some times when I get tired after a few hours of driving with them I'd say to myself, I'm getting too old for this. Then I remember the good times and I'll be itching for another seesion.


How long can I keep up this pasttime? For as long as I can I hope!

What do you do when you feel like you need a break?

Sort:  

@nkkb says: Driving is fun especially in Malaysia to all kampongs and towns. Should make a round Malaysia from perlis all round to Johor. Should be interesting.
#nkkb

Would love to do that, but having a family means I can't be away for too long. Maybe a in a few years time when my kid is older.

@nkkb says; Good man

Those trunk road is good for road trip

wooi bila touge

erm....next week maybe?

No, you put my name behind @jayjml
Ayam cemburu liao

Printer ran out of colour

BBrRRrrrrrrr

Wow, this is a great hobby at @dxn. I don't have a car but me and my sister get on a short drive as much as we can on our vacant time.

I think it's like traveling gets addictive as you do it more often. :)

Yes it is addictive. Just a few years ago driving is a menial and boring task for me; Now I learn to find great enjoyment being behind the wheel !

My sister thinks it too at times, especially when its working time. But I (the rider) is enjoying it lots when we go out. lol Don't know how to drive. ^^

I run. Although not in a run club. It is cool that your hobby has led to friends as well as providing relaxation.

yep, that's the whole point of having a hobby I guess.

Running is great, it is much cheaper and healthier than playing with cars lol. I just don't have the will or discipline to routinely participate in physical exercise....something I feel I must change as I age.

Join me cycle! Haha

Cycle expensive also!!

Increase ur endurance level and u won't get tired so easily during the drive. For me, i need to get back on th saddle

I need to start exercise more liao. Nowadays feel so sluggish.

U should, 6 months off the saddle during the road trip to Cameron i do feel its not the same as before

at first glance i thought your title is "Why I love drifting". anyway looking forward for the next drive. steemit toge

need to put steemit stickers on our cars? lol

I game to get some steam off! But yea driving is fun too! :) Those look like a very nice array of cars! Proton! :)

I dunno man I get even more aggravated when I game....maybe 'coz I suck :(

@dxn. I think this will lead to Teammalaysia autoshow.

Wouldn't that be something haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98