A mechanic how to - Replace a door lock actuator!

in #cars7 years ago

Good evening steemers!


Today I had a vehicle that the left rear door was not closing on a 2010 Chevy HHR. While I admire redneck ingenuity, it needed to be fixed. It looked like this inside:

Pretty great, huh? After removing the door panel and making sure nothing was broken, I test the latch with a screwdriver and it would not stay latched. That told me the internals was jacked up, it needed to be replaced. Begin by removing the three bolts holding on the door panel (usually theres a plastic cover over them you will need to pop off, these were missing though).

Some vehicles have additional bolts at the bottom of the panel, but this one doesn't. Use a trim tool or flat head screwdriver to stick behind the door panel and pull out. Once it is free all the way around the door, lift up off of the door lock. You will then need to disconnect the window switch connector, and remove the door handle cable. To do this, simple lift up on the door cable and push in the tab and pull on the connector. Keep in mind your vehicle may be different. It will look like this:

The white plastic is held on by sticky goo...stuff. I use a razor blade to run behind it as I pull. After removed, it will look like this.

You will need to reach your arm into the door and remove the outside door handle rod by unclipping this yellow clip:
Simply move the rod out of the clip. This actuator has a connector on it for the power door locks, you need to remove this connector. It has a red clip on it you need to pull up then slide the connector. (Sorry, it's hard to do this and take pictures inside of a door.)

Next, remove the 3 bolts holding on the actuator.

The tricky part is you need to remove the inside door lock rod, to do this you need to flip the actuator around inside the door to remove it. While I could not take pictures and do that, I took a picture of the rod to show you what I mean.

Pull the actuator out, then reverse the process. Put the actuator back in the door, flip it as necessary to reinstall the inside door lock rod then bolt it back down with the 3 bolts. Slide the connector back on, and push down the red tab. Then put the outside door handle rod between the yellow clips and clip it back into place. Test door. Next, stick the plastic back on, and reinstall the door handle cable and window switch connector. Line up the door panel and push it on back into place and put the 3 door panel screws back in. Done!

SIDENOTE:
If you tackle this yourself and get injured or die, I am in no way responsible.
I did not instruct you to hurt yourself.

Don't forget to upvote and follow!

@drobinson

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

This is how I feel again. I am so glad I have you to ask because there is no way I could figure this out!

I shall be paying someone lol

Sign me up. ;)

I pulled that jimmy rig of a move on my first car. It was a 83 Cutlass Supreme and the driver door wouldn't stay close (different issue) I bungee corded the crap out of it to hold it closed lol.

Brilliant! We've moved on to ratchet straps now lol.

Steemit needs so much more of this!! Keep bringing it!!!

wish there were more of these helpful diys around here.... keep it up! upvoted!

Great post my love!

Thank you dear!!

Of course!♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80