I have roughly a $50k Budget. What Car/Truck/SUV... Should I Buy?

in #cars8 years ago (edited)

I'm in the hunt for a new vehicle and thought why not ask Steemit for some help? What should I get? Convince me. I have been having some serious trouble trying to decide and need some strong arguments and opinions from you guys!

The Plan



I am currently selling my 1967 350 Camaro.


I will be trading in my 2007 BMW z4 3.5 si.

Raise some $$$ with this post?!


MY CURRENT GUT FEELING CHOICE

2017 Chevy Camaro 2SS Convertible - PRICE TAG: $53k

VEHICLES I'VE OWNED RECENTLY

1995 Jeep Wrangler

2012 Dodge Challenger R/T

1990 Ford Mustang

DETERMINING FACTORS

I live in New England USA (Weather) Boston
Currently Live at a Condo Open Air Parking (Garage Near By Relatives House)
Also can't install a personal charging station (If you're thinking Tesla) (Charging station close by however)
Budget around $50k
Good Credit (Get Good Loan %) So not really a factor.


Really hope this post gets some traction so I can get some solid debates going. Especially the Chevy vs. Dodge, Gas vs Electric...

Comment below with what you think I should get / reasoning / links / images / information / anything!!


your boy
Blue

Sort:  

Buy steem power and you can buy much better car later on.

If I was going to buy a new car (as in a different one), I'd save towards a Tesla. I'm not a fan of new cars (as in, not preowned) because you lose a ridiculous amount of value the moment it drives off the lot. Buy used. Always buy used. Unless you have a million dollars in the bank and you like burning money, buy used.

I love Tesla , but yes the budget isn't there for it, until the new ones comes out (I'm in that crazy line for btw).

I did read about your charging issues and weather (I am E. of Toronto in Canadastan) -- the longer the Chevy Volts have been going, the longer their batteries are lasting, bar none, if you would consider one. Why?

-- Not the flashy cars you are used to, but the battery life in winter is good and kept improving. It has small gas supply in it for the days you need it for whatever reason (time, did not charge it, on a long trip and don't stop to charge) etc --- so it may be something for you to look at. Use leverage of the fact that Volts are sitting on the lots.... meaning supply side in your favour and have that in your pocket upfront.

Many people on here, are of the -- get off the grid AMAP mentality so def. look at the EV market. It will not be long before condos and buildings and retailers are full of EV stations, be it level 1 or 2 charge. Hope this helps, best wishes!!

would be pretty hard for me to get ahold of one of those haha
Live in Boston ;)

Eastern Europe is filled with them still.
Get that baby on a ship and voila! 50k gone. 500 for the car and everything else for shipping :D
Beast of a car XD

Nice cars! I wish I have any of those!

Thanks man! I do Love my Classic Camaro... but its time to let go :/

That's a great car,but you know what you want !

You should get an Alfa Romeo 6C, no doubt about it, should cost just over 50K and any more than that is totally worth it...

http://mycars2016.com/2016-alfa-romeo-6c-price/

I live in Plymouth, I drive a AWD Caddy CTS, great car for the weather.

Awesome car! However if they start at $50k base then were talking around 65 at least new with any kind of options etc etc and I'm not sure I can even buy one around here?

The Alfa Romeo 4Cs can be imported, not sure about the 6C but yeah after importing and all that it's up over 50. Worth it though, not much more just write some epic blog posts on here an you got it. Just not sure it would be that useful around here for about 9 months of the year. Your likely better off getting an awd vehicle. I think we are in for another awesome winter this year.

Porsche for $50k? Used maybe and what kind? or did you just comment to spam your own posts?

Love the '67 Camaro SS. What are you getting for it

Thanks! Not sure yet , just selling it now so we will have to see

Wait for the roughly 40,000$ tesla to come out. That's the only car I'd buy personally. It's super fresh and you never have to pay for gas again.

Got in that line early actually but still around 80k in line lol so it might be some time until I get my hands on it. Want something in the mean time ;)

Why not buy steem power instead?

It is true I don't reaaaalllllyy NEED a car but it does make life a lot easier, more enjoyable, and fun. So sell everything and just buy steempower is your suggestion? I actually did think about this , but I love cars too much I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61