I Imported an Ex-Tokyo Auto Salon Car to Australia.

in #cars7 years ago

Back in the early 2000's I bought this unique car at auction in Japan and had it shipped to Australia. It was a former showcar for Stella Auto-Garage and had been to Tokyo Auto Salon and also got a small write-up in Option magazine.


500HP TWIN-TURBO 1JZ TOYOTA SOARER (LEXUS)


We had the car sent in its own private container, and were at thge wharf to receive it when it arrived. We filmed unloading it from the container and it truly was beautiful, with the one of a kind rainbow speckle through the irridescent blue paint. Anyway, I was told to come back in 3 days once it had been sprayed and cleared quarantine. When I came back I almost couldn't believe my eyes. The car had been smashed in the rear quarter and one of the rims completely buckled, it had also been run completely out of petrol, The wharfies had been having a great time drifting it up and down the wharf until one of them obviously had smashed it. They denied all liability and basically told me to get my car of the wharf before I too met with an accident.



Luckilly, the video we had made earlier and an angry lawyer was enough to see them offer a settlement for the damages but I was still heartbroken. The 3 piece 18" rims I had not seen in Australia and the paint would be nearly impossible to match. However, thanks to a friend with some amazing skills and another engineering shop, the rim was fixed and repaired and the re-paint was done. I can notice it, but others usually don't.



There were some big claims that came with the car including a top speed of 300km/h an 11 second quarter mile and 500HP. It had basically the entire Blitz catalogue fitted to it. and it was fast, but not that fast. Still I had a lot of fun driving it. The interior contained a full cage, TV and sat-nav, which were all a novelty in a car nearly 20 years ago.



THESE PICS

These pics were taken for a magazine cover and were shot in the only car-booth with infinity walls in Brisbane. That stark white in the background is not shopped in, it is actually a large white studio with no hard lines at the edge of each wall. It gives an amazing effect. The Blond Vietnamese girl in the pics was my friend and hairdresser and her look perfectly suited the theme the magazine was looking for. Note, there is only one of her, not four.


Bkkshadow in the Studio

Anyway, I sold the car many years ago, and often miss it. I hope it is still cruising around somewhere in the sunshine state. It was certainly one of a kind.

Sort:  

I'm sure I remember that car cruising around the Sunshine Coast years ago. Maybe when you owned maybe after.

its very possible. My car club used to do Sunshine Coast runs about once a month :)

I wonder if the wharfies still work there too... reminds me of the scene from Ferris Bueller's Day Off - but at least they didn't crash it, though they did run the miles way up, and likely compromised the frame on a few of those hill jumps lol

some car companies have even added a "Valet Mode" to capture footage once you pass your car onto a valet:

I picture it just like that scene. I can only imagine what they put that car through before one of them (probably the intern) smacked it into a wall at high speed.

Twin J
Fast car

they did do a 2.5 JAPANESE only option 2 lunger. It was AWESOME actually.
I dropped 1 in an 84 SUPRA.

Great engine. Not quite as potent as a 2JZ but still great power potential

Beautiful automotive dear friend @bkkshadow congratulations on your purchase thank you very much for sharing these beautiful photos

thanks gain for your kind words friend :)

mmmmm a roaring kitty! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33