You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 years in the making [#1] Rebuilding and restoring a 30 year old BMW - twice.

in #cars7 years ago

Man you did your thing with this build!!! I love seeing older cars brought back to life. Not to mention you did the restoration the right way. not covering up old rust with new paint, that will crack away in years to come. Being in the automotive world this brings a sense of joy to see this. Seeing to many old Bimmers being sent to the grave yard. Im in the process of restoring my E34 right now. Giving it a new heart and brain. Stepping out of the box and matching my beautiful body lines with the performance it deserves. Trashing the M50 Vanos and replacing with a Ls1.(plz dont judge me. lol) In the process of your build, what was the biggest obstacle you encountered?

Sort:  

The greatest obstacle for me came at the very end when the finished car just threw everything it had at us to prevent us from getting it back on the road. That was some of the most frustrating stuff I've ever come across! You'll see what I mean at the end it's too much to get into now.

That said, the engine and building the car wasn't actually that bad it's just when 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 issues occur back to back that makes you wonder 'what am I doing here?'.

As for your E34, that car needs a V8 if you ask me - irrespective of Euro or American firing order. I once had the pleasure of riding in an Alpina B11 4.0 that was an E34 that they equipped with a 4.0L V8, slightly tuned to 320hp and an auto tranny. That car was a riot I tell ya. I couldn't stop grinning and the exhaust made the earth shatter. So I'm all for your plans! Please, please share it as you go along!

Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81