Amazing collection of American Muscle Cars I discovered in Bangkok

in #cars7 years ago

Bangkok is an amazing place and you really never know what you are going to see when you start exploring the city.

Here is a great example of what I mean. Recently I was walking down a small side road (called a 'soi' here) when I came across what appeared to be a rather nice, big house being built and being a bit nosy I decided to have a look and see what sort of place it was they were building.

Imagine my surprise when I saw that not only was it a house but also storage for a large collection of American Muscle Cars!!

Now I'm not really that knowledgeable about American muscle cars, but I do know I like them and I do know that originals like these are probably worth a lot of money.

The cars were in various states of restoration and repair, with some obviously still waiting to be fixed up and others looking almost like new.

This was what I saw as I approached what I thought was just a building site.

Selection_626.png

The first car was this rusty Pontiac GTO, which despite it's condition is still a beautiful car.

Selection_605.png

Next to it you can see the unmistakable rear end of a slightly more modern Pontiac, this time a Trans Am

Selection_604.png

And a few more pics of the Trans Am

Selection_606.png

Selection_607.png

Next up was a beautiful old car, with a soft top, great sweeping fins and an absolutely huge trunk at the rear. Perhaps some of you car experts can say in the comments what this lovely car is.

Selection_609.png

Those rear doors look like the ones that open backwards - suicide doors I think they call them. Pity they weren't open.

Selection_610.png

Finally a view taken from the front.

Selection_613.png

Parked alongside that lovely baby blue convertible was this shiny black Super Sport, one of the few cars that looked like it was in road worthy shape.

Selection_612.png

The interior looked nice as well.

Selection_611.png

Parked in front of the Super Sport was a Barracuda, this one still in pretty rough shape, but just looking at it you could imagine what it would be like once restored.

Selection_614.png

Here's another shot looking down the side of the Barracuda

Selection_615.png

And the front of the Barracuda (apologies for the blurry pic!)

Selection_622.png

Not sure what this one is, but I know I like it!

Selection_616.png

Selection_617.png

Someone obviously working on this one.

Selection_618.png

A nice Chevy convertible SS 350, although in need of a lot of work

Selection_619.png

The rear of the Chevy

Selection_620.png

And the front of this lovely car

Selection_625.png

And finally, what looks like a 1969 Dodge Charger R/T. This one at first glance looked like it might also be road worthy.

Selection_621.png

A closer look....

Selection_623.png

Sadly, once I got to the front I realised it wasn't quite a road worthy as I first thought. But still a gorgeous car and maybe one of my favourites.

Selection_624.png

I've no idea who owns this collection, but he is obviously not only rich but also a huge fan of American muscle cars.

Thanks to the construction workers who didn't seem to care that I just walked in and started taking pictures of the cars!

I'd really appreciate if any car enthusiast could comment and tell me more about these cars.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures.

Sort:  

Oh wow this place is a treasure chest! those cars are some of the most beuatiful cars ever made. Great documentation, my faves are the barracuda and the dodge challenger, amazing cars that will hopefully get some much needed TLC and see the light of day again :)

Yes, they are awesome cars, even in their current state. I will be going back in the next few weeks to see if I can get some more pictures. Glad you enjoyed the post @jonjon1

The light blue one is a Lincoln Continental, most likely a 1964 version. Probably one of the most sought after cars in that group.

Since the Charger doesn't have it's engine, it isn't worth as much. The Barracuda has some major rust issues and would cost a pretty penny to restore.

The SS Camaro is nice, but not as rare as the three I just listed.

Thanks @deanlogic Great to know what they are. That Lincoln would be amazing once fully restored.

And, yes, they are called suicide doors on the Lincoln.

I wonder what they have done to it, since obviously those aren't period correct wheels, but it looks like they kept the engine.

I thought those wheels looked quite good on it. Perhaps they are just on so its easier to move the car around.

I can't tell from the picture, but it looks like it was lowered.
The Charger was hacked up and had a blower on it at some point. The old Pontiac Firebird looks to have been scavenged, but was probably also a racer. The black SuperSport also seems to have been a racer.

So, whatever the owner was doing, he wasn't leaving anything stock. The exception is the GTO, which looks like it is about to disintegrate. It looks like surface rust, but based on the 'Cuda, there is probably worse damage underneath.

Thanks for the comments.

I reckon some of these cars would have been imported to Thailand by US military guys who were in Thailand during the Vietnam War and afterwards.

Would be really cool to know their full history.

American Muscle cars are love. After that much years still better than cars from now world. 1967 ford mustang fastback and 1970 camaro are my favourite cars of all time.

Those are nice cars to have as your favourites @soomrohassan

1959 Pontiac “Tri-Power” Front Fender Gold Emblem Pair, C531852GRS

As someone who absolutely adores classic American muscle, I bet it felt like heaven to feast your eyes on them, man.

It was definitely a surprise to find them down this little side street here in Bangkok. Not what I was expecting that's for sure!

what a collection! I'd love to go check it out one day. Resteemed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44