Mazda Could Save The Combustion Engine

in #cars7 years ago

SKYACTIV-X.png
Given the increase in demand for electric vehicles and hybrids, it seems like the combustion engine could fade out in a decade. Sure diesel engines are more efficient and I've actually seen a fair amount of diesel powered BMWs around, but that doesn't stop the pollution that come from diesels (thanks Volkswagen). Mazda has a new idea that could increase fuel efficiency that doesn't require the mixture of spark plug ignition and air to power a car.

Skyactiv-X


Slated to debut in 2019, Mazda's new engine is all about efficiency. Equipped with a supercharger, you're given more torque, diesel-like mpg, and better powertrain efficiency. Since the rumors of the RX-9 most likely aren't happening, the hopes the rotary engine returning are unlikely. But if efficiency and better mpg's is what it takes to keep a combustion engine alive, I'll welcome it.

This Is Good News for Mazda


AR-150529977.jpg
I got a Mazda 3 for my 18th birthday. It was and still is my first car, it's manual, and only 150hp. I know that's low but I still enjoy driving it after many years and keep it in great condition. I understand Mazda's new motto "Driving Matters." They're one of the few companies still keeping manual transmission standard for their cars (charging extra if you want an automatic transmission) and I trust them in the endeavor to keep the engine alive before our roads are nothing but electric cars. Driving is a thrill that will never go away as long as you have the right car and your favorite roads.
0310161252b.jpg

Sort:  

The combustion engine is far from dead! Don't bury it yet!

True, but the naturally aspirated one is close. Companies are turbocharging everything! I'll allow the Supercharged F-Type and the 911 Turbo.

Turbocharging uses wasted energy to drive more oxygen into the combustion chamber which makes the whole cycle more efficient - why wouldn't they do this when there are strict efficiency standards forced on manufacturers by government regulation?

I don't think we've seen the last of the combustion engine, sure many love the EV, but just as many hate it. I for one would always choose a V8, because thats what I love, and there are many more out the like me. Sure, EVs are nice, but it will be a long time before they are the only option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52