You can't always get what you Want!

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

()

Xr6 -.jpg1997 Ford Falcon Single Cab ranchero xr6

R 39,000

1997 Ford Falcon Single Cab ranchero xr6

Post an ad like this for FREE!
Date Listed 09/06/2017
Location
Harrismith, Free State
For Sale By Owner
Make Ford
Model Falcon
Body Type Single Cab
Year 1997
Kilometers 261000
Transmission Manual
Fuel Type Petrol
Colour Burgundy

Engine and gearbox still good. Needs only a little tlc.

I am staying in Florida ,with an Alfa Romeo Sportwagon , with a Broken Steering Pipe , A Ford Cortina V6 3 litre LDV needing quite a bit of attention , but runs when you put a battery in it.
A 2002 Golf 4 1.6 which is Chris's but also needs some attention, which is our main runaround.

Wayne and Shakira discuss this with Chris ( Iam not present) and come to me and say " Mom is all for this consolidation, get one vehicle"
As I still sometimes do sound hire , an LDV is preferable, I have always lusted after a Chevy Lumina SS V8 which also comes in a LDV.
I do not discuss this with Chris , who as Friday is a Public Holiday , has since Wednesday being staying with her best Friend Corrie.

Go onto Gumtree, the Chevy's are more than I wish to spend , my next choice after that is a Ford Ranchero 4.0 litre Straight Six XR6 model preferably. there are only 2 advertised one Immaculate ( so they say) for R79,000.00 and another see above advert for R39,000.00 I phone the owner Johann and send a R10,000.00 deposit and had secured what seemed like a very good deal for R35,000.00

At the same time I post Chris's Golf on Gumtree and The Cortina Bakkie ( LDV) Within a day the Golf is gone , probably sold it to cheaply as I am still getting calls for it.

As Friday the 16th is a Public Holiday here , we arrange to go to Harrismith early in the Morning ( not quite as early as we wanted as the SE did not turn up at the Bohemian)

Harrismith is halfway to Durban, close on 300K's

We get there the vehicle has just been washed, Wayne notices the Back Numberplate is missing, " Oh, did I not mention the vehicle has been scrapped?" He has 3 day permits for it expiring on the 17th
The interior is as he said a bit damaged , I can feel the motor has recently run, The Price is reduced to R30, 000.00, but I had already transferred the full amount in! He promises to return the R5000.00
Off we go , temperature shows cold, so , I take it easy , I will never go above 2500rpm until an engine is at operating temperature, Oh we collected it from a farm just before Harrismith.

We no sooner hit the Main road than we hit a Police Roadblock,

I switch off the Car and it will not start again I of the Cops offered to buy it! Johann came along and showed me that the remote needs to be plugged into a slot on the door frame before anything will work. ( he had started it up originally )

toilet.JPG

This is where we stopped for Fuel and Burgers but the above sign pointing to the ATM as a Toilet caused me a large amount of Mirth!

We get to a fillingstation , I fill the vehicle up and we go to Steers to have some Burgers for Breakfast/ Lunch off we go , by now I realise the Temperature Guage does not work , as soon as I get over 2500rpm there is a tapping noise from the cylinder head area , Wayne stops and him and Charlotte ( on Steem soon) get in and I cruise behind them until , they are turning off toward Vereeniging. Wayne is convinced this is not an XR6 but the lower performance regular Model.
In addition the Oil Pressure is not good there are 5 Bars on the Guage and it runs on the bottom one.!

Proves to be an XR6 0-100kmh in 7.5 Seconds, 228 kmh top end , when in good shape, some Bakkie!

XR6  2.JPG

Anyhow I made it home , and was quite shocked that I had just under 300kms on the trip indicator and was still showing a three quarter Fuel Tank!
I tried calling Johann when I got back on Friday ( several times) , straight to voice mail , sent an email, no response.
Saturday Morning , still Voicemail , later in the Day , he phoned me back ,said he had been out of Cell coverage told him about the knock in the Motor , I wanted another 5 K off the vehicle , for the engine Knock . Told me , he had been desperate ( behind on his rent) Came to an agreement . On Monday he Transferred R8K back to my account, and Tuesday sent me a copy of a registerd Mail Slip with the Papers for the car in them ,. ( they were with someone else)

I was extremely Fortunate that Johann was a man who kept his word, I understand desperation , because I have been there!

Picked up Chris on Saturday Evening with this , and the only words I have heard from her since is " Where is my Golf?"
I used the Cortina LDV's Licence and Plates on this up to yesterday , when I sold the Cortina. So now unlicenced Ford LDV and non running Alfa

So I will have to suffer for a while riding around in one of Wayne's Toys

Needs a wash and some fuel , happening shortly!

7.JPG

7  2.jpg

Sort:  

That excitement just adds to story my friend. The car looks very nice, good luck and safe travels with it.

I had similar head ache when I bought my motorcycle from some online. I showed up to the guys house and he another buyer waiting to bid with me lol.

This is one crazy story haha.
I hope all is well at the moment

The other big problem is , Engine parts are extremely hard to obtain .

Damn, well I wish you the best of luck buddy.
I don't normally do this but because you have read one of my posts before, I published a post about If time is real?
If you want you can check it out.

This is bad....

Wow :/ praying everything works out . Don't ever give up and always keep hope. Upvoted!

Ha Ha, great tale :)

I m like

I want it

Thank goodness holly!!! I like the cars and will keep powering up in order to be able to afford them with my steem power . Beautiful pictures, and following you for more updates. Lets stay in touch.

Thats insane. Oh well.

:D

nice ute - iam following and upvoted

Wow, inspiring story, one more reason to work hard and hope for best. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted!

You got some great cars there, thanks for sharing :)
I upvoted and followed you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49